All is Lost?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hiptech, Oct 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Setting up a new HP system for a friend and stripped away all the BS software, etc.

    After optimizing the system and loading TI9v3677 I tried to create a backup onto DVD but failed so I backed up to 2nd internal HD instead using the setting to split to 4.7GB size files and ended up with 2 TIB files. Naturally verification indicated all was well.

    So after screwing around what a something I ended up inadvertently corrupting the OS and decided to restore. Well guess what, after deleting the partition on the C-Drive and attempting a recovery... Error: E00070020

    Since HP doesn't provide any discs, and with the C-Drive and partitioned D-Drive lost... Now what?

    After searching around it seems these backups may still be valid but after booting up with the rescue disks TI9 is telling me they aren't?

    Is there anyway to move these off the internal drive onto a USB or external drive using TI9 so I can see if they will work or am I just wasting my time?

    Thanks guys, appreciate any help
     
  2. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    HP's (and Dell's) typically have a hidden recovery partition on the system drive. This partition contains a proprietary file format that prevents Windows from seeing it. With HP's, usually by pressing "F10" during bootup you instruct the system to boot off of this emergency partition, which should then offer you a number of recovery options.

    Good luck!
     
  3. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    From what I've been seeing on new systems, they all give you the opportunity to create your own recovery CDs. It's either in the Control Panel or there's a shortcut icon on the desktop. But I know this will not help you now.
    I doubt that transferring the two backup images to an external drive will help, but no harm in trying. Another option is to go on the HP forum and ask if someone will cut you the Restore CDs for that model of HP.
    It is always a good idea to test your backups by actually doing a Restore and since you already have a second hard drive this would have been a relatively easy task.
    One thing just struck me ... you say this is a new system. Are you sure it came with two physical hard drives or did you put a second drive in it?
     
  4. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Thanks guys you're right.

    One of the first things I blew off the system was that partition...

    Silly me, I thought I could get by with Acronis True Image 9.0 "the best damn reliable backup software around!"

    Not to worry I'm already reformatting with Win XP Pro, a step up from the OEM XP Home. And luckily HP's site is listing the drivers, hope it's all of them?

    Of course there's the reward of having to restart the process and painfully recovernig several days of work - Thanks Acronis! :cautious:

    Ralphie, in answer to your question I did add the 2nd HD. I've always believed in having one boot disk and one data disk.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2006
  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    The system will be better off with the XPPro install from scratch. Now you can be sure the Registry will be clean and there will be no crapware left over in it. Earlier this week I was working with a new laptop for someone and started the process of removing all the bloatware and trialware. After uninstalling AOL (why it was installed I don't know) the normal way via Add/Remove I decided to search the Registry for leftovers. You wouldn't believe how many Registry entries still had AOL lines in it.

    Since you do have that second drive, be sure to test any Image backups before blowing away the original.
     
  6. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Agreed, I have no idea why PC makers feel compelled to pre-install all the crap they do (kickbacks)?

    As for the next image backup, just how do you test for validity, the previous one said it was?
     
  7. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Even if the validation comes out okay, it could be a false positive as some have found out. Use that second drive, restore the image to it, disconnect the first drive and boot from the restored drive. Most mother boards nowadays will boot from the second drive if the first is disconnected. It could even be configured as a Slave on the Secondary controller. If it is the only drive connected, the system will boot from it. So you only have to pull the power plug on the first drive.
    Another useful thing I've found is to give the drives unique volume names. Do not simply leave them with the generic "Local Disk" name.

    BTW, do you have it clear in your mind what True Image means between Imaging and Cloning. If you do, you could actually Clone the first drive to the second, shut down, pull the power cord from the first and let the system boot from the second.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.