Alert from windows firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by aigle, Oct 18, 2020.

  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Hi, I am not sure why I am getting this alert off and and on with different sites. I am on a trusted home network but the alert has allow on public networks checked by default. That looks so strange to me.
    Any idea?
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Canada
    I think it might sometimes be attempting to act as a server:

    https://www.howtogeek.com/435610/why-does-windows-defender-firewall-block-some-app-features/
     
  3. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,379
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,899
    That's a regular message for chromium based browsers. "public" seems your used network, i have a LAN network behind my router so i use "private". "public" means hotspot, modem, Wi-Fi → direct connection to the web. If not it's recommended to switch to "private".
     
  5. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,045
    Location:
    Romania
    The reason is the path: C:\users\shahb\appdata\local\programs\opera\71.0.3370.228\opera.exe
    which for a dumb reason changes after each software update. Next time when you launch opera.exe, it is located in another path and it is trying to open a port and listen for inbound connections. Your old action is not valid anymore since the path changes and for Windows Firewall, a new path means a new rule required, especially for programs that try to open ports and listen for inbound connections.

    My advice, change your browser with one that uses the same path after an update. Or you could disable those notifications from Windows Firewall itself.

    upload_2020-10-20_0-52-15.png
     
  6. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,016
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Another thing to consider:
    Opera was eventual installed, without the user wanted to.
    There are installers, like AVIRA, that have Oper as payload...
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    That makes sense now. I get similar alerts for chrome as well. I connect to my wifi hub that is connected to internet in turn.

    So it will be safe to just allow it?
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.