Ahnlab security?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bonedriven, Mar 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I have never used this av till now I'm forced to use it.

    I'll study in a Korean university for 1 semester. I have just bought a laptop today and connected it to school's internet. But I find I'm forced to install this Ahnlab Security suite. If I uninstalled it,I'll be cut off in less than an hour.

    Does anyone have any idea on this product? I don't think it's a decent av and just don't feel safe with it.:(
     
  2. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    You might find it's not at the top of the list, or near the top, but maybe where you're studying, and the area of the world you're in, it's security/detection rate is solid.

    Install something like sandboxie with it, and you'll have no problems.

    However, I do notice their products still show and promote 2007 products. Might be due for an update. http://global.ahnlab.com/
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    is there a list of programs you are allowed to use or do you have to use that perticular program?
    most universitys have a list of acceptable av's

    normally they detect and allow such as mcafee,norton,nod32,kaspersky sophos etc.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  4. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It would suck if you are forced to use a particular security software. IMHO, as long as you're computer is not compromised, you should be able to use whatever security application you want. My university provides us with free antivirus, however, they never force us to use it. They can detect, though, whether a computer is compromised or not, so they are able to cut off the connection to a compromised computer if the need arises.
     
  5. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  6. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Yeah,I'm thinking what else security products to add.

    Version 2007 is their newest one anyway.

    I tried Avira,but still I was forced to install Ahnlab. Yeah,you must!
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey bonedriven,have you tryed talking to the ICT department asking a list of allowed av's?
     
  8. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    No. The university and the Ahnlab corporation must have some business contract. So it is a must have if you want to use school's internet.

    Maybe it's time to add a HIPS. I don't quite like HIPS though.
     
  9. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I did a little research on the Ahnlab product. It is much more an administrative tool than a decent AV. That is really bad.
     
  10. Dr33

    Dr33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    you can add one more layer with PrevX

    and play Baduk in Korea :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.