Ahead Nero CD Burning

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Hans 01, Oct 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hans 01

Hans 01 Registered Member

Hi, I'm a real novice, but I'm learning bit by bit at these forums. I've realised I have no back-up against a future harddrive failure (I regularly back up my files). I have "Ahead Nero" which I use to burn back-up cd's and it seems to have a facility for imaging the harddrive.
    Unfortunately, I haven't kept my Nero program updated (didn't know how to until just recently - thanks Wilders). To update my Nero is now a 1.35 hour download acc to what I found at www.nero.com (I'm dial-up).
    I know it's my own fault for not updating, but I thought to ask all you experts if Nero can image my harddrive. If not, the 1.35 hr download might be a waste of time and I'd appreciate suggestions for a better way out.
    Also, pls advise if imaging is THE way to ensure smooth change of harddrives (from failure or at upgrade). Thanking you in advance.
    / H

2. nod32_9

nod32_9 Guest

Imaging is the best way to restore the whole operating system including all other settings and programs. Nero is not a TRUE drive image software. I would recommend that you stick with software that DOES NOT RUN from within windows. This will provide the highest level of stability during image creation/restoration.

I've just switched to a program called Bootit ng. It can write to 4.7GB DVD discs. Bootit can also repartition the hard drive. I believe you can still try the full program for 30 days. Bootit costs $35. You can download Bootit in 3 minutes with dial-up. The installation takes less than 2MB of hard drive space. Very efficient program!

3. If I use nero BackItUp 1.2.0.20 in Nero 6.3.1.25 and then go to unit security copy, there is an option to back up "compaq diagnostic" in windows xp ( windows xp preinstalled)If I burn this copy to 7 cd´s, Is it going to be a restauration and bootable copy of windows xp?