Agnitum Outpost 8.1 Released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by hayc59, Jun 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,607
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Ha. Indeed.

    That's the beauty of the world wide internet. We all get to compete regardless of geographical planet earth location.

    China developers of the HIPS EQSysecure, MalwareDefender, etc. for XP systems brought forward and shared their designs which proved how very talented they can be in the field of safety & prevention for windows systems.

    A solid well crafted software program is an exceptional find in this huge jungle.of experimental projects floating everywhere. It's obvious some rise.higher then others no matter where they are.
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just purchased Outpost 8.1 Lifetime license...The firewall and installation went smoothly...But...When I went too copy and paste and enter my License Key...it wouldn't accept the Key. Have used the previous 8.0 version and never had any problems entering and accepting my license key. Is their a glitch with the new version...and any suggestions as too remedy my problem! And what's the difference between the activation key and license key...seems to me it's one in the same. If somebody has a solution it would be appreciated. Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! I did some cross referencing and discovered that their were only Four Lines instead of Five lines in my activation or license key...I contacted Agnitum to inform them of the incomplete Key. Stay Tuned. Sincerely...Securon
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Can someone please tell me how to configure Outpost to alert me to any new connections?
     
  5. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK

    if you are in 'rules wizard' mode, you will be prompted for any new connections by apps which are not allowed by existing rules. you can then allow/disallow or accept preset rule suggestions, etc. the HIPS portion will also warn of any new or changed apps.

    alerts for events can be allowed or disallowed via the advanced settings. these generally cover attacks from outside or unexpected events from apps inside.

    the advanced settings also allow you to change your mind later.

    the event logs are also available (and level settable) to provide a record of allowed/disallowed connections.
     
  6. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you.
     
  7. minoka

    minoka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    50
    One more way to get pop-up alerts: in individual existing application rules, you can choose to "report this activity".
     
  8. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,740
    I'm in learning mode and every time I restart my computer the "allow" rules that were originally under Global Rules List for Network Rules>System Wide Rules when you install it are there each and every time. I keep removing them and something keeps updating it.

    Anyone know how I can stop this? Thanks
     
  9. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,539
    Location:
    Outer space
    Has anybody a guide to configure Outpost so it blocks every traffic except VPN to avoid leaks when VPN disconnects?
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    There's been a long time since I last tried Outpost, so I'd like to ask if there's been have any further development around their IP blocker, so that we can important more than one list at a time, without having to merge whatever lists we have, and if it's also possible to create exclusions, based on domain names, should an IP be shared and blocked?
     
  11. netbook0tr

    netbook0tr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    england
    Just updated now, installation went smooth and no issues for now! Thanks for the update!
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    This firewall just will not install correctly on my machine for some odd reason.
    Still thats how it goes sometimes.
     
  13. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
    When you install OPFW 8.1 the golden rules is you must have internet connection while you're installing OPFW online at the same time, because OPFW need to download the correct drivers for your OS from their server otherwise if you try to install it while off-line OPFW will not work correctly.
     
  14. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    try come out of 'learning mode'. the default running mode after the initial flurry of automatically accepted 'learned' rules should be 'block most' which only allows connection based on existing rules, or slightly less secure 'rules wizard' mode, where you are prompted if a new rule might be required. the initial learning mode is to autogenerate rules for your boot and most often used apps to cut down on (but not eliminate) the prompts. after a while, they taper off as the outpost config stabilizes. for a more secure install, do not accept the setup prompt to go into learning mode for a week, then read and answer the zillion prompts that will be asked when you re-boot.

    advanced settings allow you to join the 'improvenet' system where rules are auto generated for the most popular apps based on 'popular' feedback from users systems, if you choose the setting to create and update the rules based on improvenet it WILL delete any custom rules and replace them with the improvenet rules. if you choose to just 'create', it will keep your custom rules and add them to the improvenet rules.

    there is another advanced setting under 'improvenet' to always autogenerate rules for signed apps. this can result in some fairly broad 'allow' rules which may need manual tightening.
     
  15. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    basic answer is NO. the original 3rd party ip blocklist had been developed to perfection, with merge, white and blacklists, domain name tools, sorts, etc. it was what seduced me away from kerio ten years ago. in vista and beyond MS removed the API hooks that third party outpost addons depended on, requiring a complete rewrite of OP and we lost the blocklist function entirely. agnitum added in the current basic blocklist after we made a big stink, but have not as yet developed it as much as it had been. we keep hoping. the agnitum website has a contact form under the support section where you can add your request to ours to spend a bit of time updating the ip blocklist functionality. the IP blocklist is one of the more important features for outpost setting it above most of the competition. blocking IPs in the list is also the highest priority and top of the rules processing order list. there are no more superior rules in some other module that may subvert it.

    the more 'suggestions' they get, the more likely they will devote the effort.

    the squeeky wheel gets the most grease.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2013
  16. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    How come OSS isn't very popular? just curious because I don't see many people running it.
     
  17. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    I am running it and its awesome..nothing but I want or
    needs gets in or out :)
     
  18. Circe

    Circe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    The AV could be better. The web control module is excellent and Agnitum's HIPS and Firewall are both top notch.
     
  19. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    The problem with outpost these days is that its neither here nor there ,with its web control and av.The av is mediocre and you probably wouldn't dream of installing it without any hips and firewall to back it up.The web control (imo) is donkeys years old and hasn't evolved.Id rather use admuncher ,adblockplus or no script than the awkward and limited web control in the current outpost.At one time outpost was groundbreaking when it included those things as im not sure many other vendors did at that time.However those modules just haven't evolved.Its still not newbie friendly ,unless you leave autolearn on continually ,but this then leaves a gaping hole in its effectiveness for blocking malware.I install outpost every now and then hoping for something better and unfortunately its usually more of the same. The one saving grace for me is the logging capabilities.
     
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    does anyone know if agnitum will add a sandbox or something more the OSS? seems like they are slow to release updates.
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    I will install outpost again at some point. I purchased a lifetime license for it.
    The firewall seemed to give me alot of prompts for some online games I was playing.
     
  22. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,271
    Location:
    UK
    That is surely a good thing?
    Once you tick the dont ask again box it will not happen again
     
  23. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    @ AMIGA500 There has to be an answer to your dilemma.. Has to be! Windows 7 comes with a mighty powerful firewall maybe a conflict there? If there is even a hint of that firewall in the neighborhood when your installing Outpost that would cause it to hiccup. I know this has been an ongoing problem i sure hope you find an answer..;)

    Hogndog

    I'm still running 8.0 without incident, but you've tried that as well..o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.