ADVICE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by IAMME, Dec 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IAMME

    IAMME Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    camden, ar. usa
    What is the proper (best) (perfered) drive order for multi drives when configuring BIOS. and How do you "insure" your bios is configured properly for "all of your system".
    -
    windows xp home
    motherboard-gigabyte ga-81pe1000-g
    chipset- intel springdale i865pe
    cpu- intel pentium 4e, 2.8 ghz
    memory 512 mb pc 3200 ddr sdram
    BIOS type- award modular
    IDE controller- intel 8280 1eb ultra ata
    a: floppy
    d: disk drive- samsung 20 gb 5400rpm ultra ata/66
    c: disk drive- wdc wd800bb-00f ja0 80 gb
    e: cd-rom
    f: dvd rw -sony dvd rw dru-530A (multi format) with cd-r/cd-rw
    ---
    My OS is currently on the D: drive
    ---
    Thanks
    Bill
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello IAMME,

    In your case the only way to set up BIOS settings is to set your Samsung drive as boot device. However you may set you CD-ROM or floppy as the first boot device if you wish. It will allow you to boot from bootable CD or floppy.

    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. IAMME

    IAMME Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    camden, ar. usa
    Thanks very much for the information.
    I have "never" went into "bios", I had my system built by a company here and now wished that I had not done so. The tech there should have put the "os" on the 80 gig drive as I asked with (2) partitions.
    I am trying to read and study enough to change this "even though it works good as is".
    That is why I purchased TI8 after reading this forum.
    ** I sent an e-mail to support center stating that I could not "create" a bootable rescue disc. I have seen where (I guess) you have to use a cd-R or cd-RW media.
    I, not knowing went out and bought +R and +RW disc. So I will go and get the minus types and try again.
    Is there anything "else" I need to know/do to configure BIOS to boot from a rescue disc.

    Bill
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello IAMME,

    Could you please confirm that you have purchased CD+R and CD+RW, not DVD+R and DVD+RW?

    As for the BIOS settings please read the manual for your motherboard carefully. If you haven't any you may download the manual from the site of your motherboard manufacturer.

    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. IAMME

    IAMME Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    camden, ar. usa
    Hi ilya
    I, after reading ATI thought that you could make a bootable rescue disc "using dvd media". So I purchased dvd+r and dvd+RW.
    So I will go purchase some "cd-R and cd-RW disc and then try again to create the rescue disc.
    Thanks for you prompt response
    Bill
     
  6. IAMME

    IAMME Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    camden, ar. usa
    Hi Acronis and forum
    Purchased the cd's, went into BIOS and made boot order of:
    1st--sony dvd/cd-rom (drive X:)
    2nd--Samsung 20 gb (with OS) (drive D:)
    3rd-- Floppy drive (A:)

    Restarted system, selected TI, selected bootable rescue media builder, ran wizard, inserted cd-RW. Clicked proceed and in a few minutes it completed it thing.
    Shut down system, inserted the rescue disc, started system and it booted direct to Acronis TI8.
    Worked like a charm
    --
    Now what

    I would guess try making a "full backup" of my D: drive

    Thanks everyone "Acronis"
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.