Advice on trojan removal software

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by DuncanN, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DuncanN

DuncanN Registered Member

Hi,
    I have been using NOD32 for the last 10 months and have rolled out version 2 across our 1000+ user network and am impressed with the results. Nod does detect the trojans, but we are getting a high number of late. Can anyone recommend a really good spyware/adware removal tool?

Thanks

Duncan

2. honeybunny

honeybunny Suspended Member

3. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

As this is about spyware removal/prevention, I have moved it here for a better response.

Nod32 is on the improve in this area in regards to prevention, just make sure you have "Potentially Dangerous Applications" ticked in your setup. You can also use Ad-Aware Pro which has a active monitor, and Javalcool's software, SpywareGuard and SpywareBlaster which are prevention tools. You may also want to look at a Hosts file to prevent users from accessing bad websites.

This is what works really well for me, very simple to use and maintain. I know this is for a single PC, however you can see what works and can pick out a few products. You could also roll out Process Guard 3 from DCS here at Wilders, which prevents dll injections and can be password protected to prevent any installation of programs.

Hope this helps...

Let us know how you go.

Cheers :D

4. Atangel

Atangel Registered Member

There's a difference between spyware and trojans to a large extent, IMHO. And the products that are good at removing one aren't so hot at removing the other (Adaware and Spybot only do so much with most trojans and dialers, but do a fantasitc job with other Ad and Spyware, same can be said by ATs, but in reverse!)