advice on cleaning infected computer

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by nan5040, Sep 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nan5040

nan5040 Registered Member

To begin with, I am a total novice when it comes to PC's. I have owned only Macs since I started using computers (in the mid 80's) and am relatively knowledgable about them (but no expert). However, I now have a PC problem. I bought my daughter a PC laptop when she started college. At that time she had no internet service; soon thereafter she got a dialup service. About a year ago, she decided to get high speed internet, and of course then is when the problems started. (Let me also say that she is a complete airhead when it comes to computers and worrying about viruses, etc.)

To come immediately to the problem, I now have her computer (I gave her an old Mac to use for the internet, which is much less apt to get infected.) Once before, I wiped her hard drive clean and reinstalled Windows XP home, gave it back to her to use for word processing only. However, there was something wrong with the wireless switch, so it was online all the time anyway; consequently it is now again a mess. I took it in to Best Buy to have the wireless switch fixed (under warranty), and they now tell me that it has a trojan and 8 adware programs on it. They also want $300 to disinfect it and to install an adware and an antivirus program.

I asked why I couldn't just wipe the hard drive clean, and reinstall windows again to clean it up (and update it myself). They said that the trojan could have infected the motherboard of the computer, and therefore wiping the harddrive and reinstalling wouldn't get rid of it. Is this trueo_O??