Advice needed for my security setup

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by drone, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drone

drone Registered Member

I'm a long-time reader but in the past I wrote a little (I dont' even remember my username), so I'd like to introduce me to this forum.

I'm an IT professional in Italy. Like (I suppose) many people here, a day I caught a virus, I finally went rid of it and then I googled for the best ways to protect me. Finally I found Wilder's and (I think like many people here, also) my PC ended up bloated with a mess of security software.

Then I started to strip down my setup and now I would like your advice.

The Users:
    Two PC's (1 desktop and 1 netbook, both Win XP SP3) shared by me and my not-so-geeky wife, so I don't want to reduce usability at all. I'm on a always-on ADSL connection.

The basics: I set up a LUA (with SuRun) and a default-deny SRP (for all users except administrators - no additional path rules), all enforced by KAFU. All HD's have 2 partitions (system/data)

Backup:
    syncback free for data backup
    Paragon Hard Drive Manager 8.5 SE for system partition backup
    Mozy Home Free for scheduled backup of selected data

I have a second internal HD on desktp PC that is mainly dedicated to backups, but sometimes I make a full backup on DVD's also.

Firewall:
    Netgear router with hardware firewall, remote admin disabled, custom strong password for admin, UPnP disabled. PC's are connected in a small WLAN (PSK-WPA2 key), so XP Firewall is on on both PC.
    OpenDNS setup in the router, with some ad/nasties filtered.

Browsing: