Adobe Premier Pro

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Foxfired, Dec 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Foxfired

    Foxfired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    am thinking of buying a copy of Adobe Premier Pro CS3

    The minimum system requirement is :

    Intel Pentium 4 (2GHz processor for DV; 3.4GHz processor for HDV), Intel Centrino, Intel Xeon (dual 2.8GHz processors for HD), or Intel Core Duo (or compatible) processor; SSE2-enabled processor required for AMD systems

    1GB of RAM for DV; 2GB of RAM for HDV and HD


    My system is:

    Dell Inspiron 9300
    Intel Pentium M Processor 1.73GHZ 794MHZ
    1 GB of RAM

    Does anyone know if this will be enough to run Premier Pro?
     
  2. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    No it isnt, Premier Pro will eat up your computer for dinner & breakfast :D these are the FULL requirements to run this Application:

    System requirements
    Windows
    2GHz or faster processor for DV; 3.4GHz for HDV; dual 2.8GHz for HD*
    Microsoft® Windows® XP with Service Pack 2 (Service Pack 3 recommended) or Windows Vista® Home Premium, Business, Ultimate, or Enterprise with Service Pack 1 (certified for 32-bit Windows XP and 32-bit and 64-bit Windows Vista)
    2GB of RAM
    10GB of available hard-disk space for installation; additional free space required during installation (cannot install on flash-based storage devices)
    1,280x900 display with OpenGL 2.0–compatible graphics card
    Dedicated 7200 RPM hard drive for DV and HDV editing; striped disk array storage (RAID 0) for HD; SCSI disk subsystem preferred
    For SD/HD workflows, an Adobe-certified card for capture and export to tape
    OHCI-compatible IEEE 1394 port for DV and HDV capture, export to tape, and transmit to DV device
    DVD-ROM drive (DVD+-R burner required for DVD creation)
    Blu-ray burner required for Blu-ray disc creation
    Microsoft Windows Driver Model– or ASIO-compatible sound card
    QuickTime 7.4.5 software required to use QuickTime features
    Broadband Internet connection required for online services†


    Seeing as your system falls well short of the minimum requirements, I'd be surprised that it would even Launch, let alone run smooth.

    If you read my signature, you will see my PC Specifications,and Premier Pro even has some glitches with Me o_O Plus do you really have 10GB of space for installation? If not, Forget the Idea of entertaining it :cautious:
     
  3. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I second DVD+Rs response. Premier Pro is meant to be used in a professional environment with powerful computers. Your system won't be able to handle Premier Pro very well.
     
  4. Foxfired

    Foxfired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    But isn't a Pentium M processor much faster than a Pentium 4?
     
  5. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It is, however, you won't enjoy using the software by only meeting the minimum system requirements.
     
  6. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Foxfired,

    Max-out your RAM to 2GB (2048MB) of DDR2 PC2-5300 and you should be ok. Your laptop only has 2 memory slots, so if they are now both occupied - each with a 512MB module (that's the way Dell would typically configure it), you will have to replace both of them. Even so, doing that costs less than $30 from crucial.com. Go for it...
     
  7. Foxfired

    Foxfired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks Aaron, maybe I will try that.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.