Adobe Flash Player on 64-bit Windows Vista computer

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by RobertSA01, Jan 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RobertSA01

    RobertSA01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Hello,

    I have a 64-bit Windows Vista computer and I have installed the latest version of Java and Adobe Flash Player on the computer and I visited YouTube.com. When I tried watching a few videos on there, I had some trouble viewing the videos because YouTube says I have a possible old version of Java or Adobe Flash Player.

    Could someone help me with this issue?

    Thanks,

    Robert
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello RobertSA01,
    i assume you are running the 64bit version of internet explorer?
    trying running C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    it should work then.
    the flash player 64bit version is in alpha atm.
    java webstart 64bit version is in beta atm.
    so for the time being use the 32bit internet explorer 7 as indicated above.

    hope this helps
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    x64 Flash alpha is for Linux only for now and there are no plans for Windows release but maybe it will change in the future.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I might add that the x64 alpha for Linux does work well in Firefox....
     
  5. Arup

    Arup Guest


    Indeed as well as in Operax64.
     
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    According to this Adobe TechNote article they plan to release a Win64 version after Flash Player 10. By then Win7 SP1 will be out, lol.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    It's amazing how slow they've been about the entire thing.... :eek:
     
  8. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Adobe in general has been slow to x64, that goes across the board for all their products as well. Same goes for MS Office, at least in x64 Ubuntu, everyting today is x64 including my office suite.
     
  9. RobertSA01

    RobertSA01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Hi All,

    Sorry for the late reply. I guess I will have to wait to Adobe comes out with the version I need.

    lodore,

    I will try that and let you know if it works.

    Thanks everyone!!

    Robert
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.