Adobe Flash Player 11.6.602.168

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by moontan, Feb 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    released today.

    you know what to do. ;)

    no release note yet.
     
  2. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I'm very confused. I haven't had the Flash plugin installed all that long, maybe a few weeks since I installed Firefox again. My version is 11.5.502.149...now how the hell did Flash get that far ahead in releases and leave me behind when Flash is set to automatically download and install updates? Is their updater like Java and doesn't actually work?
     
  3. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    @Mman,No its not like java but it still may take time to hit your system its not instant and it was just released.Best way to test it is not to force the update and let it notify you then you will no how long it takes,a day,two days etc.

    @ moontan Thanks for the heads up just downloaded it for windows and OS X.
     
  5. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I understand it can take a day or two..but what was the previous version?
     
  6. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Official Adobe Flash Player beta announcement channel: https://twitter.com/FlashPlayerBeta

    IMO, the betas have been working better than the stable versions. And they are updated way faster in the background.
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Windows Update updated flash for IE10 again today (it did it a few days back for the security issue, but that was 11.3)

    Today it automatically updated to the 11.6 version it seems.
     
  8. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Thanks Moontan. This is becoming very "java-ish" from Adobe's part.


    Links to the full offline installers:

    ~Link removed per Policy.~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Thanks for the head's up. :thumb:
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Done.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I better get a bigger heat sink for my cpu.... :rolleyes:
     
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Wow, that's the 3rd security update for Flash in a few weeks. I like adobe finally taking security more serious, but I hope they won't discover another zero-day vulnerability in the next days :D
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i'm starting to think it's as bad a Java! :D
     
  15. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Thanks, and updated. Though I miss the days when Flash was around 3-5 MBs big instead of 15MB, hopefully Adobe will stop feeding the baby soon. :)
     
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I dont know about that,java is the king of exploits.:D
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    It is! The very reason java is dead to me. I wish it was as easy to do without flash.
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I agree,so as of right now there is nothing to replace flash I gather.
     
  19. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    And nothing will replace Flash for a good long while. HTML5 isn't ready enough yet to take over, but even if it were you have to wait (and hope) for the rest of the web to replace all its Flash content with it. On large websites with heavy daily traffic that isn't such an issue, for the rest it may never change.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    They really should offer an update button in their system control application ("Flash Player") that works as expected: starting the update process immediately IF there is an update available. - Also being allowed to configure the automatic update checker interval in an easy way would be nice. - But Adobe isn't, right. :D
     
  21. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    This really isn't a bad idea at all, but you're right, if it's logical, Adobe will never do it..:D
    On the other hand, for me at least, I don't mind getting just an update prompt, as long as it's in a timely manner. I always uninstall the old version before installing the new one anyway. Used to do the same with Java when I ran that too.
     
  22. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    No kidding. I mean... if I wanted to open my browser and just download it manually I would. What's the point of even having the button there then?

    As for the size of it growing... I see that as a good thing. Not taking shortcuts around code for for this app = good thing. As is getting the patches out there quicker.

    But my god, make the updating process more seamless already...
     
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yes we do have to jump through hoops to get the updates,I would think buy now it would be seamless.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.