Adguard for Android

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by avatar, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    What exactly do they break?

    We'll improve automatic setup to work with older Android versions without ROOT in future version.
     
  2. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    First of all, it blocks way too much and you cannot customize the lists or add exceptions like in the desktop version. For example, all the content in the apps from a very important media company and the images of the mails I receive from them are blocked. That's Easy List's fault.

    Second, it blocks the internet connection from time to time. Usually, stopping and restarting Adblock fixes this, at least temporally. Some times you need to turn off the tablet.

    And it makes the Amazon web stores, that are a vital part of a Kindle, very unstable: you open the Appstore, make a search and click a couple of links and the store gets stuck, it can't load new pages. That happens 90% of the time.
     
  3. syk69

    syk69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Posts:
    183
    Any chance of adding option to add other lists? In desktop extension you can choose other filter lists like fanboy annoyances. Which would be great! Thanks!
     
  4. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    This feature is in the roadmap.
     
  5. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    @vojta, thank you for detailed description!

    Meanwhile we'll test Adguard with Kindle device and fix all issues.
     
  6. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,308
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Adguard for Windows with IE9 on Facebook does not work for me. Some of the Text is in the wrong places.
     
  7. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,308
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    For some reason the Text is in the right place today with IE9 and AFW in Facebook. The Assistant Icon does not always appear in Facebook and seems to be a different color today on all sites.
     
  8. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Wrong thread, Adguard for Windows is discussed here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/adguard-ad-blocker.342850

    Anyway, about Assistant, we have updated it to new version and changed button design.
     
  9. CJ11V

    CJ11V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having issues paying for your product via paypal...

    Performix LLC
    Return to merchant and try a different payment method
    Error Message

    This payment cannot be completed and your account has not been charged. Please contact your merchant for more information.

    Return to merchant and try a different payment method
    We are not able to process your payment using your PayPal account at this time. Please return to the merchant's website and try using a different payment method (if available).

    Did Paypal black list you guys since you are a Russian company?

    Do you have any other US based payment options? I'm not really interested in paying for it and then paying a foreign transaction fee...
     
  10. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    @CJ11V

    Paypal is ok, the only issue we have with paypal is that you can't pay with it if you're a legal entity (that's restricted).
    I can say more if you send me more info in PM.
    Also there're no foreign fees or taxes.

    What for other payment options, if you select Visa/Mastercard and go further, you can then switch it to wire transfer or skrill:
    http://screencast.com/t/A59aoQHgPqMp
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    The new version 1.1.808 still doesn't work well with Gmail and Onavo Extend...
     
  12. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,434
    Can you elaborate a bit? It doesn't seem to me that there is any issue with Gmail on my tablet.
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    When I'm on 4G, if I have Adguard and Onavo Extend enabled, Gmail takes a lot of time to refresh, and sometimes it can't get emails...

    With v1.0.671 works fine.
     
  14. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,434
    OK, probably it's a specific issue under your circumstances (4G and AG and OE). Avatar will surely take care.
     
  15. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    Avatar is already aware of this issue, and I was just reporting that the new version still has it... :(
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,434
    Providing the problem is in AG, he will get resolved it eventually. I recall I had encountered with a similar issue on my Sony tablet and it took several beta versions to iron out it.
     
  17. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    This issue may be solved if we whitelist Gmail app. But I am not sure if we should do this.

    In the next major release users will be able to select which apps should be filtered by Adguard and which shouldn't.
     
  18. syk69

    syk69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Posts:
    183
    Please add compatibility with habit browser, if possible? Thank you.
     
  19. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Thank you, we'll add it in the next major update.
     
  20. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Just started using Adguard Premium for Android and so far it is working great. I like that you don't need root access to fully use the product.

    dja2k
     
  21. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Added in the latest beta:
    https://adguard.com/apkb
     
  22. syk69

    syk69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Posts:
    183
  23. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    New release of Adguard for Android is ready!

    Changelog for 1.1.835:
    In parallel we work on a new major release (version 1.2). This won't be simple bugfix release, lots of new features will be introduced:
    1. As you know, Adguard was almost impossible to use along with majority of existing firewalls. We had no other choice but to develop our own built-in firewall, so you could block stuff while blocking more stuff!
    2. Long-awaited user filter importing feature. For those of you who like to customize things, life will be much easier.
    3. Who else wants a widget to enable/disable protection in one tap? We do! So it will be implemented in 1.2 update.

    Post about this release in our blog: https://blog.adguard.com/en/news/adguard-for-android-version-1-1-835-released.html
     
  24. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    How is this program on your phones system resources? is it light?
     
  25. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Can Amazon's Silk browser be configured to work with Adguard for Android? I have just installed the new version and authorized the VPN, and the counter showing the traffic statistics seems to work on my Kindle but no ad is blocked in Silk.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.