Additional AntiVirus Protection???

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jpcummins, Jul 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I currently have two AntiSpy applications; SuperAntiSpyware Paid as real time, and MBAM Free as an on demand scanner. I am looking for suggestions as to whether or not I need and additional AntiVirus program. I currently have Symantec Corporate as real time and I am considering adding possibly some other AntiVirus program as an on demand scanner. I occasionally take advantage of online scans. But, I am not sure as to whether or not the online scans are as thorough and complete as an installed and updated program would be. In your opinion do you believe I need to add an on demand AntiVirus program. I am not asking for recomendations as to what program(s) only whether or not I should add one. I believe myself to be a safe surfer but there is so much nasty stuff out there. As always I appreciate all replies and thank you in advance for your respnse.

    John
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I don't see the need to add an on-demand AV to your rig, that's having count on that you perform online scans occasionally.

    If you are happy with both Symantec and SAS running in real-time then stick with them.

    Just keep your online av scans, they'll give you extra peace of mind ;)
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No additional Av is required. However have you posted your complete security setup somewhere?
     
  4. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Using Symantec Corporate? :blink: Yes, you should use another on demand av scanner IMO
     
  5. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Based on what reason?
     
  6. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Symantec Corporate isn't able to provide necessary protection for the average user.
     
  7. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark

    o_O Come again :eek: . FYI, SAV gives just as much protection to the average user, as it does to the more experienced user. My only concern is how old jpcummings version of SAV is?!
     
  8. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yeah, right...
     
  9. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    So.......on what do you base this statement?
     
  10. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yeah right indeed, my friend!
     
  11. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    My experience. My father's experience. The programmer's who teachs me programming experience, with his other collegues at the company he works.All my friends' experience. Any one's I know experience!
     
  12. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Big Apple, I bet that he haven't even tried SAV. If he had, he wouldn't write posts like that.


    Cheers
     
  13. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I haven't tried SAV? I have tried norton antivirus, internet security(which came up with my laptop) and symantec av (which was used at a company where I study and at my school. I even tried the internet security before chosing what av to use this year.
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    i have helped clean quite alot of infected computers running eiether norton or symantec got infected with spyware and trojans.
    SAS will be able to cover that area fine.
    hopefully symantec are working on improving detection and removal of spyware.
    how many updates does symantec send out a day?

    symantec isnt the only companie that needs to work on spyware detection.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2008
  15. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Then jpcummings is home safe then, isen't he?

    Enough to make most peoples rigs free of crap. But if you must know, it depends on which version you're running. Older versions get only 1 update a day (which is enough) newer versions are sometimes lucky to get 2 or more:D

    Hope you're pleased u2 "never speaks of anything else" KAV/KIS fanboyz?!

    Have a wonderful day and/or night.
     
  16. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I neglected to give the following information about Symantec Corporate:

    1. Program 10.1.6.6000
    2. Scan Engine 81.1.0.13

    As far as I know that should be one of the latest versions.

    John
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    lastest version is 11.
    so pretty close.
    try to get 11 from whereever you get it from.
     
  18. Troy45

    Troy45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Well here's a link for the migration path for Symantec Antivirus Corporate.

    hxxps://forums.symantec.com/syment/board/message?board.id=endpoint_announcements&thread.id=2


    Symantec Endpoint Protection v11.0.2010.25 is the current version.

    But it hogs allot of resources and has many bugs.
     
  19. circlemoon

    circlemoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Running the OS in Ram as virtual image is one of the method to avoid infection of virus. Once it occurs, just reboot the computer and all viruses will be destroyed because it is only a virtual image.
     
  20. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Your very fine with Symantec Corp. Eventually use 'Dr. Web Cure It' once in a while :thumb:

    And no.. 11 isnt the latest... Symantec Copporate latest is 10.1.... or 10.2.... Symantec Endpoint is 11....
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2008
  21. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I seen your sig...

    Windows XP | Norton Internet Security 2008 + Norton Antibot + Norton Ghost 14 | Light, fast & SECURE

    never thought I would ever see those words together. :eek: Nice to see Norton turning it around.
     
  22. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thats just my expirence :) :thumb:
     
  23. Dave2609

    Dave2609 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    China
    Each time I have used Norton it has never been light and fast, which is why I move it. I hope they are making it smaller and faster now.
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Get the free version of bitdefender v10. It's a real nice on-demand scanner. If using Vista Sp1, you will have to rename a file which is incompatible, but it still works great. I use Avast Free and bitdefender for on-demand scanning.

    Ice
     
  25. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    IMHO any one good AV is enough and you don't need any more. For example Avast is perfectly OK and BitDefender is unecessary.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.