Addition to PrevX

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DavidCo, Jan 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I would like to add to PrevX + SafeOnline.
    Free
    What is the CPU & disc I/O like with Panda CAV and MSE
    I tried both during their beta stages.
    I am spoilt by the almost 'transparency' of PrevX
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    You can look at various performance measures for a number of AVs in the December 2009 Performance Test at www.av-comparatives.org.
     
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Try them out. And find out for your self that's the easiest way to figure what will work for you. Right now I use Prevx along side many different AV's on many different computers. I works fine and runs like Prevx was not even there.
     
  4. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Prevx seems to run good with just about any av. At least any I have tried with it.
     
  5. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    Yeah like they said it runs good with most but I haven't ran it with MSE and MSE is picky about who its friends are. lol
    Panda was light when it first released so I imagine it still is. MSE is also pretty light too and I like it more but like Fajo said try them out and decide for yourself
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I haven't had any problems running it with MSE.
     
  7. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I installed Panda CAV and after doing the full scan etc to fill up the 'known good' everything was OK.
    Very light didn't notice it.
    Until today that is.
    Red X on sys tray icon.
    Reboot fixed it, but I did a search for known issues and found the .dat corrupt fix.
    No point really - if it goes bad once..........
    Probably fixed in 1.1
    Hmm, perhaps I'll look at Avast V5 free?
    It's the I/O really and MSE doesn't care what it does there it seems.
     
  8. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    I have no problem with dr.web security space pro beta with prevx on netbook, they both run very well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.