Adding Prevx to AV exclusions

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by BoerenkoolMetWorst, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,853
    Location:
    Outer space
    I want to add Prevx to the exclusion list from the realtime scanning of my AV. What files do I need to add?
    (I presume it is not just prevx.exe as with MBAM it was not just mbam.exe but this whole list:
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\zlib.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamext.dll
    C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys)
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Is there any reason why you would want to? I don't with NOD32 as they compliment each other very well and I don't find any slow down! Just curious. ;)

    TH
     
  3. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    It can be usefull for exemple with Dr. Web : it killed Prevx in one second. I had to put in exclusion of spider guard (realtime monitoring):

    c:\program files\prevx\prevx.exe
    c:\windows\system32\PxSecure.dll
    pvxinst*


    and the same for scan unit.

    This information from Dr.Web support.

    Best regards, Vonvon
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Really why would it delete a legit security program NOD32 doesn't do that on my system or VIPRE AV on my VM's with Prevx also?

    TH
     
  5. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    I don't know why ...

    I never had a problem with Kaspersky or Rising working with Prevx.

    But now, Dr.Web works perfectly with Prevx.

    Vonvon
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They mussed of detected the RC's changes as NOD32 did at one time but now all new versions not a peep from NOD32 anymore! You can send the Prevx.exe file to the respective AV's that you use to stop detection as advised by PrevxHelp awhile back!

    TH
     
  7. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    I will make that, thank you.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your welcome and I hope it works for you! If there any new RC's you will probably will have to send the setup file again!

    Just to let you know that few of us complained on the ESET forum to get them to stop detecting every new version that came out and it finally worked! :thumb:

    TH
     
  9. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    Why not ?

    Interesting
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry was that a Question for me?

    TH
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,853
    Location:
    Outer space
    Just to be on the safe side, and keep my security as light as possible. Not noticing issue's doesn't necessarily mean they don't exist, and double scanning happens a lot with complementary security or on demand scanners. Try a full scan with MBAM, SAS or any other product while watching Eset's last scanned item from the real-time shield and you'll see that it scans every file the on demand scanner accesses, so your actually also running a system scan with Eset, and thus the time necessary to complete it will be a lot longer. Of course Prevx doesn't scan that many files and works differently, but still, even minimal improvements are nice :)
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Very true each user likes to use there system there way and I agree with you 100%! :thumb: To tell you the truth with NOD32 & Prevx running realtime I only do monthly Quick scans with MBAM & SAS and SAS only finds cookies for me! LOL

    If you still need every file to exclude I will leave that up to the people that know! ;)

    TH
     
  13. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    Sorry, the "why not" was why not nod 32 in the future ? It looks fine. I don't know this product but I will try it.
    Best regards, Vonvon
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,297
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    OK great sounds good to try different things at times :thumb:

    Regards,

    TH
     
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,853
    Location:
    Outer space
    PrevxHelp, do you know what files I need to put on the exclusion list?
     
  16. MeFer

    MeFer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    I put OA and other securities to Detection Overrides,but every boot time Prevx scanning OA's all drivers and datas:(
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you please create a scan log by clicking Tools - Save Scan Results and send this to report@prevxresearch.com? We will centrally add OAs files to the overrides to provide faster scanning :)
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You shouldn't really be required to add any files to their override lists unless they have some false positive against us, however, the complete list of binary files within Prevx is:

    C:\Program Files\Prevx\prevx.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\pxsecure.dll
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\pxscan.sys
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\pxrts.sys
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\pxkbf.sys

    In the event that another AV is finding our quarantine cache, you may want to add qc.csi from our appdata folder (C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\PrevxCSI\qc.csi on XP or C:\ProgramData\PrevxCSI\qc.csi on Vista/7)

    Let me know if you have any other questions! :)
     
  19. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    When you update prevx or when you install it, my dr.web block pvxins* files so we can add pvxins* files to your list PrevxHelp.
     
  20. MeFer

    MeFer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    Thanks,i sent and adding here may be help other users.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.