Adding new image to ASZ

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by motiger, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    I image every day to the ASZ via scheduling. I just updated to TI2009. I count on the ASZ killing the oldest image to make room for the new image. Has something been changed between V11 and V2009? I am getting alert windows which stop the function and are a problem. Is there a way I can return it to the old way of handling these? Thanks.
     
  2. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    motiger,

    Yes, you can do this by ticking off "When not enough space in ASZ delete the oldest archive" of the "Error handling" item in the Default backup options.

    Vlad
     
  3. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    Excellent, thanks very much. Motiger
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello motiger,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    The procedure of deleting backups in Acronis Secure Zone has not been changed since Acronis True Image 11 Home. Acronis True Image Home 2009 uses the following approach to clean up the Acronis Secure Zone:

    - If you are in the process of creating a backup and there is not enough free space in the
    zone to create it, the program will display a dialog which warns you that the Acronis
    Secure Zone is full. You can click Cancel to cancel the backup operation. In that case,
    you may want to increase the size of the Acronis Secure Zone and then run the backup
    operation again. If you want to free some space in the zone, click OK and the oldest full
    backup of the type being created will be deleted with all subsequent
    incremental/differential backups, then the backup operation will recommence.

    - If deleting the oldest backup does not free enough space, you will get the same warning
    message again. You may delete the next oldest backup (if any) and repeat this until all
    the previous backups are deleted.

    - If after deleting all the previous backups there is still not enough space for completing
    the backup, you will get an error message and the backup will be canceled.


    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    This is fine if I am sitting here with nothing to do while waiting for the image to be made. But I want it to automatically open enough space in the ASZ for the new image by getting rid of the oldest image like V11. Do I have to go back to V11 to get this feature. I have never had the computer stop in mid process and ask me questions in the past. Thus I can do this after I close down for the night. Surely this is new. I just want this ability to set it and forget it. If I need to I will dial back to V11 because I NEVER had a problem with it. I know I am not the only one who does this. This is awfully important to me.
     
  6. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    motiger,

    If you tick off "When not enough space in ASZ delete the oldest archive", ATI 2009 will handle automatic deletion of backups when adding new image to ASZ just like it did in V11.

    Vlad
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The procedure for deleting images in the secure zone has changed in V2009.
    Automatic FIFO management has now been broken. This is a huge disappointment. After all running unattened backups becomes rather pointless if all comes to a stop waiting for a user response.

    A workaround kludge has been found which restores some sanity to the system. I do not use V2009 myself so this explanation may not be perfect.

    Set up a full image followed by incrementals and consolidation. Set the number of fulls so that the zone will have room for at least one further image. Set the number of increments as zero.
    With Increments set at zero a full will be created each time. When the set number of fulls is reached a consolidation will be started but as there are no increments it will fail. Deletion of the oldest full will then be made automatically.

    This workaround really needs to be properly documented by someone who actually uses it. I seem to have lost a link I had to the originator.

    Xpilot
     
  8. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
  9. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    I went to the url mentioned above and tried to set it up as he indicated and I have no less than 9 full images in my ASZ but it still stopped me in mid image asking my permission to delete the oldest image. I guess the only thing I can do now is go back to v11. Can someone give me instructions on how to do this as I know its very long and difficult. I love TI but they really messed it up this time. This is almost my only use for it. So disappointing. Thanks for helping me try to fix it. Motiger
     
  10. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    motiger,

    Have you tried my suggestion? Checking the box restores the FIFO mechanism Xpilot wrote about. I use ASZ (on another internal HDD) for full backups of the system disk and this option works fine for me.

    Vlad
     
  11. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    I just looked again to make sure and it is checked. Upon learning about this option I too felt this would work but alas it didn't. I just reduced the size of my ASZ in the hopes that this would make it work but I am running out of things to try. I do appreciate your advice.;) Motiger
     
  12. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    I found there are two such checkboxes to delete the most dated image and I changed the last one and that did the trick. Im very happy to have found this...and I appreciate your help very much. Motiger
     
  13. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    Well I thought it was working. Still don't. Instead of deleting the oldest image it deletes the last good image. Today it created a new image and deleted the image it created yesterday. I have no idea why. It almost seems like I have a screw loose in providing the dialogue. Where can I find instructions for removing ti2009 and reinstalling v11. It seems to be the only thing that will work. Maybe I am crazy but this is important to me and I want to make it work -motiger
     
  14. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    The only thing that comes to mind: do you back up into SZ only images or other backup types, e.g. My Data as well? If latter is the case, SZ managing logic changes: the program deletes the oldest backup having the same type as the one being executed. So if your oldest backup has the My Data type (not image), the program will delete the oldest image and not the oldest files/folders backup.

    Vlad
     
  15. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    The name of the older images were not identical to the one being created so ATI could have looked at the previous images and settled on the only one (yesterdays) that was identical to delete. While I wish this weren't the case this may turn out to be what it takes to make it work. Thanks Vlad. -Motiger
     
  16. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    Well that didn't work either. In my ASZ I have three files/images all are marked identically "Daily backup". One is dated the 11th the next is dated the 15th and finally the 17th. I am quite certain images for the days in between were created but for some reason delete. I have no idea what it keys upon for deleting "old" files. The ASZ isn't even half full. Thus I have two questions: 1. Can I use try and decide for deleting V2009 and reinstall V11. and 2. I have seen some pretty thorough guidance for removing current versions of TI so the old versions could be reinstalled. I can't locate them now. Could someone direct me to them. Thanks for your kind help. Motiger
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    motiger,

    1) You are unable to use the T&D option to remove Acronis True Image Home 2009.

    2) To remove Acronis True Image Home 2009 you should use Acronis Clean Up Utility.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  18. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    Thanks Oleg,

    Just to wrap this up....Upon re-reading xpilots explanation rather than the hypertext one Vlad sent I was able to understand and make this work. Perhaps I am thick headed but I just didn't understand what was being done in the hypertexted explanation. I still am not an enthusiastic supporter of v2009 but the key work around on the ASZ is workable. I continue to like ATI but believe I will pass on the "new and improved" versions. -motiger
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.