Add disk to Acronis Security Zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by stokara, Jul 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stokara

    stokara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I am trialing TrueImage Home 2009. I repurposed a disk by deleting the partitions on it and would like to use it as an additional backup target. I am unable to "increase" the Acronis Secure Zone as this disk is grayed out.
     
  2. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    I am not a fan of secure zones, and in any case their primary purpose is to allow you to place it on the same disk with the operating system, so you can backup your system with a single disk. Since you have a new disk, just place your backup files on it, and over time delete the secure zone and reclaim the space when you have sufficient backups on the new disk. Acronis will let you backup to any disk other than the one your are making the image of.

    Good luck
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I agree. the SZ is like a halfway decent shepard's crook. Not bad for its original intended purpose back when it was first developed but in today's day and age, pretty much more a relic than a realisitic tool.

    Using a backup hardisk is much better strategy in just about every way.
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    All versions of TI are supposed to only allow a single secure zone that is why when you attempt to bring in an additional target it is greyed out.

    I have used a secure zone on a second internal drive for many years across many versions of TI. In terms of automation and ease of use it is far better than other methods.

    However in version 2009 most of its valuable attributes have been left out or have been so diluted to make it worthless. On earlier versions it was simple to schedule full backups and have them created automatically, when the zone became full the oldest image was deleted automatically.
    This still can be done in 2009 by using user discovered workarounds or running scripts but why put oneself to that trouble? In any case the secure zone has lost nearly all its old security features and I am surprised that it still goes by the secure zone name.
    I for one will never now use a "secure zone" under 2009 and I will never be using that dreadful version at all.

    Xpilot
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello stokara,

    Thank you for using Acronis Products

    The issue can take place if there are any file system errors on the hard drive. Could you please check the disks for errors?

    - Go to the Command Prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd)
    - Enter the command: "chkdsk DISK: /r" (where DISK is the partition letter you need to check) for every partition that is visible in My Computer. Please note, that checking the C: drive may require you to reboot the machine.

    As workaround try to increase Acronis Secure Zone using Acronis bootable disc.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.