add "Banking Mode"

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by blasev, Jul 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Hi there

    I just want to ask about the idea to use specific browser only for banking.
    and use LnS to lock the browser only to one IP address (or two if you've two bank)

    is this a good idea? and also can LnS do this?
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: add "Bangking Mode"

    If you make a duplicate of your browser application executable, and create a shortcut for it, and configure the application rule to allow for just the specific bank or banks addresses. ;)
     
  3. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Re: add "Bangking Mode"

    ok, even though the answer seems to be simple
    I had no idea on how to do that :ouch:

    since I will only use IE for my baking needs, I didn't have to make another duplicate.

    but how could I make the rule?
    TCP/UDP?
    should I choose equal/doesn't equal/equal my @?

    sry again Phanth0m, but I know nothing about making rules :oops:
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
  5. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Re: add "Bangking Mode"

    Well that's as clear as mud to me and I'll bet to blasev too. And its an important feature nowadays.

    So, is "Secure Banking" configuration available via Phant0m ruleset with no effort from us end-users except for a click here or there for enable/disable?
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Regarding the use of a specific browser only for banking, .. locate this browser application in the Look ‘n’ Stop - ‘Application filtering’ list, double-click on this application entry in the list, and on the ‘Ports and IP address selection’ screen, specify browser port 80 for TCPPorts:’ field, and for TCP@ IP:’ field enter in the bank IP address, and for UDPPorts:’ field enter in !0-65535 to block all UDP ports, leave UDP ‘@ IP:’ field blank. ;)
     
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    A tip... with Internet Explorer (being used as a example here), you can have a bank shortcut on the desktop to load Internet Explorer to the bank site with no addons (aka Safe Mode).

    Create a shortcut linking target file and include the below parameters;

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -extoff http://www.myBankAddress.com

    or whatever the location is for your IE browser and the web address of your bank.
     
  8. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Right, probably you would like also add to TCP field port 443 since most of bank sites use https connection.
    If you use Ad Muncher - to make it work with LnS - you also need to add the exception filter for browser that you will use only for online banking, here is how to do this, step by step:
    lns_admunch.png

    This setting disables Ad Muncher filtering for selected browser in this case for dw_browser.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  9. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    When I use Command prompt to get the ip for a domain name to place in the ports & Ip add. selection panel, I get the message:

    Can't find server name for 10.1.1.1

    Also, I can't RUN > CMD > ping either. Is something amiss with my LnS settings?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,

    Make sure nslookup utility isn't blocked or ports and IPs restricted with Look 'n' Stop - Application Filtering.


    If you know your DNS servers, use;

    nslookup <address to resolve> <DNS server>

    Example: nslookup yahoo.com 192.168.1.1
     
  11. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    More about online banking.

    So far:
    Firefox is browser of choice and so internet explorer is restricted to accessing bank ip only through application filtering 'ports & address selection."
    It was mentioned without further explanation to me by another;

    Do we need to do anything further e.g. IPSec rule to ensure LnS is setup for banking.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.