Adblock Plus problem

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by CiX, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    When I visit some website I notice there are some problem with Adblock plus
    Adblock Plus disable
    before.JPG
    Adblock Plus enable
    after.JPG
    o_O
     
  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Yes, so list the blocked elements in ABP and re-enable the one you want on that site... See, if dimensions match well known banner stuff it may happen, also the images might get served from a site you've blocked in ABP before etc. It's not a bug or anything, just a problem with generic rules.
     
  3. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Hmm, there are lots of address block by ABP, but I dont know which one I should allow.
    Here's the list:
    ad-bad-urls.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, right-click on the thing when ABP is disabled and see what the properties tell you. Or view the source code for that page. I get a red WOT status with about the worst rating possible when I clicked on hxxp://www.arcadebanners.com/banners...ssc=1148665877 link so sorry but I have no desire to investigate this for you.

    arcadebanners.com WOT rating - please make the link non-clickable or better remove it. Might as well get some drive-by malware downloads for people. :thumbd: :mad:
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  5. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Nevermind, I cant find the address, so I just enable it at that page

    All the link is non-clickable now.
     
  6. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    If Adblock Plus can block something the context menu should say- "Adblock Plus: Block *whatever*" (usually image). I think this is about the easiest way to use it. You can drive yourself nuts trying to figure out what all those items in the "Blockable items" list are.

    In the Preferences>Options you can set it to show a tab on Flash and Java elements which you can theoretically click to block them but I never had much luck getting it to work very well. I've had a lot better luck with NoScript (Firefox add-on) for Flash and Java.
     
  7. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    The screenshots are in a div called "adbox" so you probably have a filter rule called ##DIV.adbox rather than you blocking a domain, because other images you don't have blocked are served from the same domain.

    So take a look at your element hiding rules for the adbox div.
     
  8. Wladimir Palant

    Wladimir Palant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Posts:
    25
  9. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Thanks, this solve the problem ;)
    I hope they will fix this problem
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.