Adblock Plus in Microsoft Edge

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Krusty, Aug 5, 2016.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    I have installed ABP in Edge after the Windows 10 Anniversary Update and so far I cannot keep my chosen subscription lists. I have tried all original lists which I could not use because of size limits. I deleted all list and added just Fanboy Ultimate List, which was fine until I ran CCleaner and restarted my machine, which reset back to just EasyList. I then tried EasyList + Easy Privacy + Fanboy Annoyance List with the same result. Currently I have just EasyList and EasyPrivacy and will see how that goes.

    Is anyone else having this issue after running CCleaner and restarting?
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Nope. As soon as I run CCleaner ABP gets reset to EasyList only
     
  3. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I c, you experiencing this after the CCleaner. Hmmm, if you using the latest CCleaner, then you'll have to wait for the next update. I bet it'll be corrected for the next one or two CCleaner releases.
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    Same story with Adblock after running CCleaner and restarting [the browser].

    Start Edge -> Change Adblock settings -> Close Edge -> Run CCleaner* -> Restart Edge = Adblock reverts to the initial settings.

    * In CCleaner, keeping the Adblock cookie or not, makes no difference.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2016
  5. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm not affected. CCleaner Edge cleaning, I have the following;

    Internet Cache
    Cookies
    Sessions
    Recently Typed URLs​
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Here's my Edge cleaning settings.
    Edge clean.PNG

    I have Edge set to delete Saved Form Information when it closes, and set NOT to remember it anyway.

    I'd be surprised if Internet History or Download History would cause this, but who knows?
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, that worked. Sigh, even though I had excluded the ABP cookie in CCleaner ABP was reset, but unselecting Cookies as per @anon 's suggestion works, which isn't really the best option for me.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    I order to keep the AdBlock settings, the only workaround which I found is to uncheck the Edge "Cookies" option in CCleaner.
    Try it.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Hmm. Didn't I already reply to that? :)
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    LOL, he deleted and reposted it.
     
  11. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm not affected, mainly because CCleaner keeps skipping Edge cookies cleaning. This regardless of having the checkmark set.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    I delete my post
    My bad....
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, that's why I think too.
    :thumb:
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    I just ran PrivaZer with ABP cookie excluded and it too resets ABP, so it's not just CCleaner.
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    There is also the AdFender option.
     
  16. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    When I finally finished up with Internet Explorer session, I was able to experiment.

    Internet Explorer running, and Edge isn't, Edge cleaning is skipped.

    Clearing Internet Cache (for Edge) causes Edge AdBlock Plus to be reset.

    The Edge Internet Cache is randomly named files, and I don't think it's distinctive from the regular garbage. Making this very annoying problem when using CCleaner.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, I've considered something along those lines. For the last 12 months I've really only used Edge as a curiosity and a PDF reader but now we can use a handful of extensions I thought I'd try it out a bit more. Cyberfox, I think, will stay my preferred browser for the time being.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    That's odd because on my machine it's cookies.
     
  19. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    It's Cookies too. However there is something strange. Even though we exclude Edge Cookie. Having Edge Cookie cleaning activated causes this anomaly. Now get this... There is 0bytes removed, and absolutely no files been deleted. How am I affected if CCleaner hadn't deleted anything?!? LOL!
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    AdFender is adblocker, it's not a browser......... ;)

     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    Yes, I noticed that!
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes I realise that.
     
  23. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    720
    FWIW, there is also an early fork for Edge of uBlock Origin.
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Nice! It is good to see some of these extension coming to Edge. Edge still seem a little rough considering how long they have been working on it. For some reason Adblock Plus seems less effective on Edge than other browsers. As does LastPass. I was wanting to switch to Edge, but I still can't do it.
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    an too early fork.......
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ublock-microsoft-edge.387246/
    ----
     
Loading...