ADAWARE QUESTION

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by jazzy1120, Dec 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jazzy1120

    jazzy1120 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    40
    hello all,hope you are well, have been useing adaware SE FOR AWHILE, THEN ALL OF SUDDEN THIS MORNING 12/21/04 browsers start acting up (normally don't use ie5.5 but prfer either netscape 7.0 or firefox) but opened ie up to look & see something & then nothing worked right, was told """you are infected with the CoolWebSearch variant "About:Blank)

    so i ran a program called spy sweeper & it found 2 items from adaware, so un installed adaware rebooted 7 reinstalled adaware & tried to run,

    QUESTION when adware runs it stops/freeze's after scanning only (always same place)27,162 files in the bar where it shows what it is scanning it says
    ""typelib\AND A LONG NUMBER""
    BUT only way to get computer adaware to get going is to 3 button delete,

    Is ther some i need to adjust in adaware, or is there a problem with the latest update ,,thanks for the help jazzy<




     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      31.9 KB
      Views:
      172
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You could try following the comprehensive steps found here, however, I think you ought to download and run “Hijack This” found here and post your log at one of the forums found at A-SAP.

    The two bigger forums for HijackThis log processing, (meaning they process more log threads each day than most others) are: SpywareInfo.com and CastleCops.com. Be sure to read their posting policy in the links at their log review forum sections prior to posting.

    Once your system is clean you should take a look here: Why did I get infected in the first place? Also, for further discussions on security and how to make your system that much stronger, see here and here

    Cheers

    Blackspear.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    jazzy1120,

    Do a quick assessment/treatment with CWShredder, grab the standalone version - second download item shown - and follow the directions with the program.

    Blue
     
  4. jazzy1120

    jazzy1120 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    40
    hello & thank u for the reply I downloaded & ran the HIJACK this, (see pict plz) but could not het the pict or results to 'blow up into full page) but it found what loks like all my running programs, "jazzy"
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      14.9 KB
      Views:
      160
  5. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I realise that the moderators should know best. But do you think maybe this thread would get a better response if it was moved to a more appropiate section of the forum?

    Jimbob
     
  6. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Jazzy,
    I don't think you are able to post you HJT logs here anyway.....
    Have a look at Blackspear's links above.
    In the meantime....just for interest...this site automatically analyses your log after you paste it..... http://hijackthis.de/index.php?langselect=english ...but be very careful.....have a look by all means, but it might be better to wait for some expert opinion before you delete anything.
    Cheers,
    Buck.
     
  7. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Thank you to which ever moderator took my advice :D

    Jimbob
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    have you tried adaware's cloak? it's for stopping the problem you are having so adaware can complete it's scan - download this then follow the instructions below.

    To use Ad-aware Cloak, save it to your system, and run the program before opening Ad-aware. Once Ad-aware Cloak opens, click "Activate Cloak" and then open Ad-aware and scan as normal. When you are done using Ad-aware, close Ad-aware Cloak.
     
  9. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.