AdAware (AdWatch) and Spybot(Teatimer)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kegel, May 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kegel

    Kegel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    159
    I am running AdAware Pro with AdWatch as well as TeaTimer form the new Spybot Search & Destroy. Is this redundat? Any benefit to running both (i am talking about AdWatch and TeaTimer). AdWatch does function as a popup stopper and as far as I can tell, Teatimer does not. Am I mistaken? My sercurity programs are as follows...do you think I can safetly ditch any of them?

    Spybot S&D
    AdAware with AdWatch
    BoClean (just runs on startup and then stops)
    TDS-3 (on demand scanner)
    Spyware Blaster
    MRU Blaster
    McAfee Virus Scan
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Moving this to a more suitable forum for this discussion
     
  3. rocker

    rocker Guest

    IMO you don't have enough. But that's just my opinion.
     
  4. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Perhaps you could recommend what further protective applications would be useful?
     
  5. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Do you run a firewall Kegel with the anti virus ?
     
  6. Kegel

    Kegel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    159
    Yes,..I use a linksys firewall router. I also run through an anonmizer proxy. My protection is more than enough.
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    What do you use to filter out going apps?
     
  8. Kegel

    Kegel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    159
    I dont. The way I look at it, if the 2 ati trojans and spyware proggies i use dont catch whatever it is that is sending illicit packets out of my pc, then **** it. it aint worth it..none of it is. still amazes me on this board when i read that peeps still get viruses etc. dont u consider all this effort and expense for programs a waste if they arent effective. ive never had an issue personally with my current setup.
     
  9. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I've never had any such probs yet either, but I really must say that a software firewall wouldn't be a bad idea to monitor outgoing, and there's plenty of good free ones. I run a router also but my own PC is on DMZ host for gaming. I used Sygate 5.5 before I got a router and I still use it on the other PC's which are hidden behind the router.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.