Ad-Watch and Boclean

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by snowbound, May 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I don't know if this is a known issue or not. Iam an Ad-awareSE Plus subscriber but rarely use Ad-Watch anymore for different reasons.

    Well, today i decided to enable Ad-Watch with Automatic Blocking enabled. Upon reboot, i noticed that Boclean did not appear in the taskbar. I had to manually go in and start Boclean. All my other start programs fired up as usual.

    I unchecked Automatic Blocking in Ad-watch, rebooted and low and behold Boclean was running on start up. Like i said i haven't used Ad-Watch for a long time and i don't ever remember this happening before. Seems to me i do recall reading somewhere though some time ago that the Automatic Blocking option is not recommended. I can't remember why.

    Has any other Boclean users had this issue with Ad-watch before?

    Edit- There was also no warning of a registry change by Boclean when i had Automatic Blocking enabled.

    snowbound
     
  2. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I recently stopped using Ad-watch (varied reasons) but ran it alongside BOClean without any issues. A friend is still running both and he hasn't mentioned anything like this to me either (we spoke yesterday)
    I haven't installed the new version yet so maybe if you are running the new one something is conflicting o_O

    I was waiting a few days to see if the new one had any patches like the last release (installed and then they fixed something so another install :rolleyes: ) I am not even activate Ad-watch when I do install this time.
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Did u or your friend have Automatic Blocking enabled?

    No i haven't updated to the new version yet and it looks like when i do i will continue to use Ad-watch very rarely if at all. I have other apps to cover what it does anyway and frankly i find it a little too agressive for my tastes.


    snowbound
     
  4. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi,

    I had similar problems with another product. Ad-watch kept undoing a registry start-up entry without warning me. Finally I figured it out and just shut down Ad-watch. I am now using RegDefend, which I think has far better and more flexible protection.

    Rich
     
  5. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    That's exactly what is happening here. If i remember right, when i first used Ad-watch, it used to undo my AV at startup also. After that, amongst other things i stopped using it.

    Yes , haven't got around to trying RegDefend yet but it looks very interesting and the comments here are very positive. Will have to give it whirl soon. ;) :D



    snowbound
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,824

    Same exact thing happened to me as well, which was another reason I also stopped using Adwatch.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.