Ad-Aware Free Internet Security

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by simisg, Jul 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    new antimalware from lavasoft with antivirus for free anybody tested?
     
  2. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
  3. progress

    progress Guest

    Which AV engine do they use? :doubt:
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. progress

    progress Guest

    Thank you, I think it's time to try it :D
     
  6. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Doesn't look to have changed much over time? It appears to be marketed as a security "suite" but, as before, doesn't include a firewall, and Lavasoft don't do one that supports Windows 7 if I'm not mistaken, and their firewall isn't free. Ad-Aware was known to be a resource-hog, has this changed? And what is the quality of it's prevention/detection/removal capabilities now?
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    From the tech specs tab: Windows 7, Windows Vista (32 and 64-bit), Windows XP (32-bit), Windows 2000 Pro
     
  8. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Sure Ad-Aware supports all versions W7, but what I'm saying is you still need a seperate firewall, or use MSs.
     
  9. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
  10. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Powered by Sunbelt.
     
  11. SAW

    SAW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Trying on one older machine, 3800 dual core with XP pro ser. pk 3 using about 30MB in task manager after a slow and heavy install ,update ran a full scan 50+ GB in just under 1 hour. On reboot after seems decent, close to Avast in terms of system drag( so its no bad at all) . It found one trojan Win32.trojan.buzus ? and quarntined it. In the program folders it appears to be using Vipre scan system. Over all not bad may try it with a pro version of Zonealarm I have and see how much drag that puts on the system.
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    So you were infected without knowing it?:rolleyes:
     
  13. SAW

    SAW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    So it would seem but, I'm a bit doubting on it, as I did a full scan on the same machine with Avast yesterday, and I only run on a limited account, however my son was at the machine for a while last night so it is possible I guess, and I had uninstalled the zonealarm as it conflicts with Avast and just had the xp firewall behind my router with NAT.
     
  14. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    189
    don't be suprised.. Avast! 5 missed some malwares and infected by laptop with about 10 of them.. Prevx was the one that warned me.. I had to use both MBAM and SAS to remove them..
     
  15. progress

    progress Guest

  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    progress is correct. We have an older, current thread on the same subject. Let's keep the discussions there. Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.