Ad-Aware 2007 available June 7

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Jadda, Jun 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
  2. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Not exactly a "fan", but definitely going to try it out.
    It (current or "old" version) doesn't get so much work, now that ST, AVG, and SAS are around. I have enough disk space, so I keep quite a lot of the old ones. Dust 'em off, now and then.
     
  3. bettywont

    bettywont Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Good Day
    Is there special instructions in un-instaling the old version6--Also what about the quarintine stuff?
    Thanks
     
  4. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    If it's been in quarantine for over say a week, and nothing has stopped working, it's safe to delete.

    Any MRU list's in quarantine are safe to delete, same goes for cookies.

    Just double click on the entries in the quarantine to see what they are.

    As for uninstalling, just use the uninstaller in add / remove programs.
     
  5. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    Oh brother.

    I have hoped against hope that Lavasoft would this time at least, incorporate some HIPS/Behavioral blocking capability and i even pressed them very hard by taking them to task over this at their new forums, but i'm afraid they are quite content to keep their business model strickly signature based, and if that's the case, SuperAntiSpyware still has it all over the whole league of AS's IMO.

    I worked feverishly many months and countless ALL NIGHT sessions dealing with AAW users for quite a awhile and i always pity those folks who come limping in with problem malware that always hangs AAW up or simple can't delete FULLY malicious payloads.

    I don't forsee any real improvements forthcoming but hey, if they can capture enough attention with it, more power to the LS Group. It's just that they could do infinitely better if they really put the effort into it.
     
  6. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Dun Dun Duh....


    I can't wait... But I'm not expecting much...
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    w00t thats today.
     
  8. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    It's been today here for over 19hours, and no sign of it. The download page still takes me to 1.06, at Cnet.
     
  9. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    June 7 is up until 11:59pm. :)
     
  10. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    1159pm in Sweden? Or UTC?, Or Hawaii? :cautious:
     
  11. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
  12. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    And that (link) is supposed to do what?
     
  13. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
    Probably show that it's US time since LavasoftUSA. But since they also have a website for Europe, and Lavasoft is not a US company I don't know the time.
     
  14. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: Just let folks know that there is a d/l list for 2007 at majorgeeks.com


    Yes, the first d/l available toaday for majorgeeks.
     
  15. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    2007 is available now (w00t? o_O), the download is still from the cnet page though.

    cnet reckons there's been 224,229,387 downloads already.

    click here for the download page.
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  17. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
  18. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: d/l and installation are very smooth. But one caution for free version users. Ad-Aware does install a service aawservice.exe, and runs automatically w/ window bootup by default, you may change it to manual, since you are not using realtime and ad watch.
     
  19. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Thanks Perman.
    Running a scan right now.
    Smooth install.
     
  20. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    I know, but the link you posted in post#1 is the USA one, i simply copied it.. :) anyways, I meant no offense, just want to ease up the waiting a bit.
    and whatever, it's out now and let's all give it a play. :D
     
  21. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
    Ahh, ok :) Did I sound grumpy? :D If so, I'm sorry.

    Anyways, the download at Cnet is really slow! 11kb/sec. Takes ages to download.
     
  22. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Not Vista ready after all! :(
     
  23. juckjones

    juckjones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Could the old version be installed over by the new version. If I have an old pro version would the new version automatically detect it and thus become the new pro version?

    PC World says:"Note: Existing users of Ad-Aware Plus and Pro will be able to upgrade to the new versions for free."
     
  24. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Think I might possibly become a fan :D
    Starts and runs very quickly, appears to scan thoroughly. It did flag 4 of my hosts file entries as redirects, no idea why, they all have the same loopback address, I've gone "no action" for now.
    The interface is easy to navigate for those that are familiar with 1.06, but much slicker. The program files include the AdWatch (realtime) module, and it places an icon on the desktop, easily got rid of. (unless you want to buy it, of course.) I would've thought that would be more appropriate for a trial rather than a free version, but never mind.
    Anyway, that's this "6bytes short of a trainee geek's" take on it.
     
  25. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
    Yes, the install was very smooth. Quite fast. The new GUI is great. Clean and easy to navigate on. But the program stops working when I scan. Don't know why.

    Have Windows Vista.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.