Activation

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by waters, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I have a computer just over a year old and for some reason it says windows vista product key is invalid.
    It has been installed by the disc that came with the computer.
    The only thing that has changed is i have had a new motherboard fitted last week,would this cause it.
    The machine is an emachines
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    You should see a 'call Microsoft' option on rejection of the key.

    When you call this number and tap in your key when told to do so, you get an 'installation code' and you should be able to proceed with activation. However, I think this only works if you have a retail version of Windows.

    If you are using an OEM disk, then I think you might have problems as the disk is tied to the original machine spec.

    Hope this helps

    philby
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Thanks i have used the disc before but this time i have a different motherboard.I now have a duel boot bios i think.
    The computer only lasted just over a year and now i cant activate a genuine windows.
    Oh dear
     
  4. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Call MS and just tell them that you had to replace your original MB. You shouldn't have a problem re-activating.
     
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    How much will that cost
     
  6. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    No charge, I think, as long as you don't sound dodgy... :D

    philby
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.