Acronus True Image Home 10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Morkafur, Jun 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Morkafur

    Morkafur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I have several PCs I need to backup regularly.

    If I buy one copy of ATI 10 home, can I install this software on all the machines or do I have to buy a copy for ... each machine?

    I'm also considering whether it makes sense to get the workstation version, but I think the home version is probably fine as long as I can install it on multiple machines.

    Look forward to info on this.

    Thanks.

    M
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Per the license agreement, you need to purchase a copy of the program for each machine it will be used on. If you plan to use TI on three computers, then you need to purchase three copies.
     
  3. Morkafur

    Morkafur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    That stinks.

    I mean, for a home product, there should be a "fair use" provision where you can use it on multiple PCs. Jeeees.

    So, If I bought one (1) copy of the Workstation version, then I could backup each machine on the network (no copy per machine restriction), right?

    Thanks in advance.

    M
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    This question has been asked many times. A forum search for "license" will bring them up.

    As for the Workstation version, I think the same one license per computer also applies. See this post from Acronis Support.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Morkafur,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please notice that MudCrab is correct. According to Acronis License Policy you need to purchase one copy of the Acronis product for every computer it will be used to manage.
    Please also notice that we have a flexible system of discounts and the amount of the discount varies depending on the number of copies you want to purchase. Please visit Acronis official website for more information. Should you experience a problem with making an order or have any pre-sales questions, please feel free to visit our Live Chat. Live Chat operators will assist you in solving pre-sales issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Note that the important verb in the license agreement is "use" as opposed to "install". In other words the license goes much further than preventing you install on multiple machines. What it is saying is that when you create a Recovery CD you can only use it on the machine for which it is intended.

    You cannot (for example) buy one license, create a recovery CD based on that license and use it to backup/restore to multiple workstations. You would need a license for each one.

    F.
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It's not a fair use issue. It's merely a matter of a product being offered at a price and then the prospoective customer deciding whether the product is worth that price to him.

    I think multiple-machine licenses are available, but don't expect such licenses to sell for the same price as on for a single machine..

    sh

     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    A point well made.

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.