Acronis won't restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pahoo31, Feb 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pahoo31

    pahoo31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Make backup with ti 10.4871 just fine, when trying to restore it sees my external hard drive i which has the tib file, as drive C, which is the drive i am trying to restore to. Puter is dell inspiron 530. Any ideas. tia. pahoo.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do both the internal drive and the external drive show up?
    If not, you might want to update to the latest build of TI 10 (4,942). It may have better support for your system.

    Ignore the drive letters. They are completely meaningless when not in Windows. Make sure your drives are labeled with names like "Vista", "Backups", "Data", etc. so you can tell which is which.
     
  3. lightsource

    lightsource Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Are you trying to restore the image file from the same C: drive that you are restoring to?
     
  4. pahoo31

    pahoo31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    trying to restor to c from i, with c being the computer and i the external hard drive. both drives show at first but when program says it needs to reboot then external i drive turns to c drive and the process fails. also at that point there are no other drives showing to restore to. tia. pahoo31.
     
  5. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    MudCrab had some very good suggestions in posting #2. Renaming your drives can be very helpful.

    Question:
    Are you trying to restore from within Windows or are you attempting it using the TrueImage Rescue Media CD?

    Suggestion:
    If you upgrade to build 4942 create a new Rescue Media CD for that build and try booting to that.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You might want to search this archive for Dell 530 or Inspiron 530 to see if anyone else has seen this problem and reported a solution.

    The problem appears to be that your internal hard drive isn't recognized in the Linux environment used to restore your boot drive. It's possible that the last build of TI 10 or the newer TI 11 has the needed drivers. There is a trial version of TI 11 that you could test.
     
  7. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    What seems strange is that if trying to do a recovery from Windows and selecting to delete existing files (don’t recall exactly what the option is called) I would expect that a re-boot is required.

    If however the recovery is being attempted from the Rescue Media CD in the Linux environment a re-boot shouldn’t be necessary. It might be prudent to start by using this method to see if source and destination drives are both recognized. He/she can start this process and check for the drives by going through the various screens. The recovery can be cancelled if desired by not hitting the Proceed button and exiting out.
     
  8. jkb242

    jkb242 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Pahoo31,

    naming your drives is a soild percautionary measure you should do in any case.

    Are you restoring the system drive from the ATI boot CD made from within ATI? If so, it is possible that you will then find yourself fighting the drive letter re-assignment issue that plagues many ATI folks which leaves your system hanging forever when you reboot the restored system drive.

    Even though the image file sits on the I drive, it will be called by ATI in the restoration process by the same name u=you gave the system drive when you installed it.

    It has not renamed your I drive to the C drive if the I drive is still connected in a secondary SATA or IDE secondary port.
     
  9. pahoo31

    pahoo31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the replys. I have tried most of the suggestions and still nothing will restore. I have been using acronis for a number of years with no problems till this pc, have to believe there is just something with this dell acronis doesn't like. will probably try the paragon trial and see if that will give me joy. pahoo31.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pahoo31,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Please don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If that doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report, Windows system information and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.