Acronis version 8 and Windows 7 problem

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Fly, Jun 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    For years I have used Acronis version 8 for my XP system.

    Now I have purchased a new computer with Windows 7 installed.
    Windows 7 professional 64 bit.

    I must admit that I feel overwhelmed by this whole new OS.

    Windows 7 doesn't even seem to recognize my Acronis bootable CD. I thought I'd just try that.
    It's a CD, not dvd.

    What's the problem ? For as far as I know the software on the bootable CD is written in Linux.

    I'd rather not spend money on a new imaging system.

    Can I get some pointers on how to deal with this ?
    Acronis, other software, imaging features built into Windows 7 ?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Acronis 8 is not compatible with Win7, at all. Maybe upgrade to latest version TI 2010 but otherwise Win7 on its own has excellent backup and restore facilities (system image and backup).
     
  3. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Macrium Reflect Free
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    That's the one I settled on. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.