Acronis Turns My Big Hard Drives Into Little Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TomBrooklyn, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    1. I got Acronis image and backups on a 250G Hard Drive. I run Safe System Zone or whatever it's called. This hard drive now turns into a 144G partition and is running out of room.

    2. I restore an image of an 80G hard drive to a 320G hard drive. This hard drive is now only 80G and is full.

    How can I use Acronis and not turn my big hard drives into little hard drives with no room left?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    1. Please clarify ... is the Secure Zone on the 250g drive?
    2. If the 320 gig is actually booting up and all you need to do is to regain the missing space, this may work for you:
    ================================================
    If you have already cloned/restored your drive and just want to regain the missing space procede as follows:
    1. Make the bootable True Image Rescue cd, if you have not already done so.
    2. Boot with it and from its main menu choose Manage Acronis Secure Zone.
    3. Create an SZ of any size less than the missing unallocated space. Do not accept the default to activate the Startup Recovery Manager.
    4. OK back to the main menu.
    5. Go right back into the Manage ASZ.
    6. Choose to Delete the SZ.
    7. When asked what to do with the space, accept the default to append it to the existing partition.
    8. Back out to the Main Menu, Exit the process, quickly remove the CD and reboot the system (if it doesn't self reboot).
    ====================================
     
  3. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Hi,
    The backup is on the 250G drive. I'll try this proceedure tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

    Prior to reading your response, I already nixed the use of the 320G drive for my OS and have restored the OS and data to an 80G drive. I don't think I lost any space off of that but I'll try to verify.

    Thanks.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Tom, there's a second way to handle the restore of the image of your 80GB dirve to a 320GB drive.

    1. Do exactly what you did the first time. Restore the entire image to the drive. This will restore the image as an 80GB drive as you saw.

    2. Repeat the restore, but select only the check box next to the C partition.

    3. Now, on one of the next screens, you will be given the option to change the size of the partition. Increase this to fill the drive or to the size you want.

    4. When you reboot, the partition will no longer be 80GB but the size you selected.
     
  5. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    OK. I found the problem with my destination drive. I created a primary partition but I left the rest unallocated. I now allocated that to a logical partition so the destination drive should be OK. I am going to try to restore again from scratch.

    This time I am restoring to a 160G SATA drive instead of the 80G IDE or 320G IDE. I want to use a SATA drive as my C drive as I am having some problems trying to use an IDE drive and SATA drive at the same time if the OS is on the IDE. After I get the hopefully get a good restore I will try to recover the unallowcated space on the 250G SATA where the backups are.

    Edit: After restoring the image successfully on the new C drive, I went back to restore the "Full Backup with Increments" I ran out of disk space performing this function. It created a C subfolder under the root C with duplicates of some folders. I deleted some data folders in the extra C subfolder in mid-restore proceedure here in an attempt to make room so Aconis could continue. Problem: When I deleted the folders they also deleted from the root C drive so I lost the data. Some of the folders were too big for the Recycle Bin so they were lost forever.

    I am now trying jmk's solution and retrying to restore the Image. I was successful to get the destination to one full size partition. As I am writing "over" a previous restore, I hope it works OK. I am just restoring the "C" part, not the other two parts per jmk's solution.

    Edit 2: Meh. Upon reflection, since I may have gotten things a little screwed up I am going to start over from the boot disk, set up the destination drive as a New Drive, and restore from the beginning.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
  6. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    The secure zone is on the 250G Drive which is the D drive and is where the backups are.

    The 320G drive is where I restored to. That is not a secure zone (I don't think), but the drive shrunk from it's 320G single partition to the size of the hard drive I originally made the image from which is an 80G hard drive.

    I have abandoned the 320G IDE hard drive and I am trying to restore now to a 160G SATA hard drive but the same thing happened. The 160G drive shrunk to an 80G drive.

    I don't see how to "OK back to the main menu. I am offered an option to "Proceed." Another problem is the file system of the partition proposed to be made at this point is FAT32. Shouldn't it be NTFS?

    I'm going to stop here as far as working on the 250G D drive and in the meantime, I'll try jmk's solution which addresses the C drive.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
  7. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Hi,
    That worked. I had to actually go through with the second restore of the "Full Image."

    Now I am going to restore the "Full Backup with Increments." I hope that doesn't make the drive revert to something smaller again.
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Glad it worked.

    When you restore the incrementals, do them one partition at a time so that you can confirm that the partition size is the correct new size.
     
  9. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Hi John,

    - I already restored the "Full Backup with incrementals" last night.

    - I selected the most recent incremental in accordance with the advice I recieved in another thread on this forum and it restored all in one shot I think.

    - I got a couple of errors but the computer seems to be working OK and the major data areas I checked seemed to be intact.

    - I don't understand how or why, but the space used on the hard drive I restored to is 87G, but the hard drive I am restoring the image and backup from was only an 80G drive.
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Can you post an attachment picture of your drive as displayed in Disk Management.
     
  11. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    How is the disk formatted? It's possible that the sector size increased since the drive is twice as large. In that case, more space is requiired for the same number of files. If there are a lot of small files the increase can be quite significant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.