Acronis "Try & Decide"

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Espresso, Sep 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Anyone tried this new feature of Acronis True Image 11? I haven't set up a secure zone yet so I'm currently unable but it might be a replacment for Returnil/PS/etc...
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Not yet, i've just upgraded to v11 and am downloading it right now. Will let you know how it goes.
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    V11 installed and running fine. Tried out the try and decide option. At first i tried it using a secure zone on an external usb hard drive however this resulted in an acronis driver error and it refused to work. So then i tried it using a secure zone on an internal hard drive which was a success. Haven't tested it extensively yet, just tried a simple 'del c:\*.* /f /s /q' from the command prompt. It made the try and decide UI crash so i just did a manual reset and on reboot everything is back to normal. I'll have to do a bit more testing but so far its looking like a possible alternative for powershadow or returnil. Like the others you can enter try and decide mode without a reboot however like the others it does require a reboot to revert the changes. The one advantage it has over the others is its able to save the changes if you want.
     
  4. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    Do you mean that you can keep the changes and revert later no matter of reboots...?
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Unfortunately no.
    When you go to reboot you have the option of keeping or discarding the changes made. The only app i know of that can revert changes after multiple reboots is 'steadystate' from microsoft.
     
  6. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    With Shadowuser Pro you can do that...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.