Acronis TrueImage 8 Build 859

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by crash79`, Jun 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    I'm an extremely newbie in this forum and also Acronis True Image, having only installed version 8 today. I have successfuly created a full backup of my hard drive to an external hard drive so please forgive me if I am in the wrong place.
    I downloaded 826 but when I tried to open the exe. nothing happened.
    Question: Should I stick with what I've got, or attempt to download and install 859 and if it was successful would I have to create a new full backup again? Sorry for ranting on but at the ripe old age of 85 and all the trouble many seem to be experiencing I am rather excited by the initial success
    John
     
  2. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    Hello crash79` - you have come to the right place!

    Never builds of True Image are able to use images created by earlier builds without problems, so if you have a good image created by a pre-826 build, keep it.

    As for the non-working 826-exe, I would forget about that since build #859 is supposed to fix a number of problems with #826. Please do download #859, install it, make a Rescue CD (if you have a CD-writer), and then come back here with whatever questions you may have.
     
  3. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    MiniMax,
    Many thanks for your suggestion.
    I shall try that later when my patience towards downloads comes back.
    I am on dialup and it takes nearly four hours but broadband is due here on 6th July. I shall let you know how I get on. This is a great forum.
    Kind regards,
    John
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello John,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    You may find useful to compare the downloaded package MD5 checksum with this one:
    83831A27D25EC71DBA45733C18E05FB9

    To get the MD5 checksum of the installation package please do the following:

    - Download and unpack the checksum utility from http://www.acronis.com/files/support/xcsc.zip
    - Run the application and click on the ellipsis sign to browse and select the installation package you downloaded.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    Thanks, I shall do that.
    John
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.