Acronis TrueImage 11 - 7 day backup!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by markinbrighton, Apr 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. markinbrighton

markinbrighton Registered Member

Hi

I'm new to trying out Acronis TrueImage 11 (build 8053). I am trying to back up 100GB on my hard drive to a Western Digital Net Centre. However, its been running for a day and says that its got another 7 days before the backup is complete.

I'm using Vista SP1 and connecting via Belkin Wireless G Router.

Anyone got any ideas what the problem could be? Or how to start troubleshooting? Or is this normal?

Many thanks

Last edited: Apr 24, 2008
  2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Obviously it is too long. I don't know what the status of TI11 is but earlier versions were not supported over a wireless network.

I don't know what you have done or your experience with TI but if I were starting to use TI for the first time with your system I would:

Do a backup to an internal HD, this should run at about 1 GB of stored archive/minute. This would be a baseline, it is as fast that you can do an archive - anything else, network, external HDs, DVDs, etc will be slower, not faster.

Do a backup to your Netcentre device but use a wired network connection so you have a more definite idea of the speed. Wireless network speed can drop significantly if data re-transmissions are required. This will tell you the maximum speed you are able to work with the netcentre device on a network. Wireless G will be slower.
    Some people have had trouble with Vista SP1 and TI so this could be part of the problem.

3. markinbrighton

Thanks for the response.

I forgot to say I am backup up over a wired network, not wireless.

I shall try making a backup on an internal hard drive and see what the speed it. But it might be SP1 that is the problem.

4. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member