Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dysthymia, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The autonaming feature in ATI 10 is nice but it would be even nicer if the user could put in a filename and the autoname was merely appended to that. E.g., the User might put into the scheduled task Programs-backup and the full filename that ATI 10 would give the file in the managed directory is something like

    Programs-backup-2006_10_23_17_30_09_183D.TIB

    Photoshop works this way when you load files into the organizer you have the option to rename the files or to append to given filenames.

    sh
     
  2. colin59

    colin59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    better support. maybe a phone support line would be great for getting immediate help.
     
  3. markyoungsmagic

    markyoungsmagic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Wireless Mouse with Bootable Recovery CD

    I wish my wireless mouse would work with the bootable recovery CD (Microsoft optical wireless mouse V2.0A)
     
  4. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Documentation.

    A searchable up-to-date knowledge base with error code meaning(s) and resolution(s). Many of the configuration and program workarounds are known only to those who frequent these forums. How about making this knowledge available to all registered customers?

    Reliable validation. And, since ATI archives may be intact upon creation, but not intact later, some method of scheduling ongoing validation to confirm the healthy status of any or all ATI archives.

    Bit level validation of critical data archives, and of restorations. Operation successful should mean 100% accuracy. But, the current methods of validation or restoration do not confirm this result.

    Fault tolerance as an option for critical archives.

    If not a hardware compatibility list, then at least a known hardware and software incompatibility list. Since clearly ATI does not function fully on all systems, it would be good to know what works and what does not work before we need to perform an emergency restoration.

    Built-in testing for known component weaknesses, such as intermittent memory errors that can impact the accuracy of ATI operations.

    If, in order to achieve this level of accuracy, a different grade of True Image, or a core-only product, needs to be created and released, please do so. At a higher cost, if need be. Many fine programs come at various price points, and professional users will pay for reliability, and accuracy, and "archival" digital data storage.

    Log files that show details about each and every operation performed, on both Image archives and Files and Folders archives.

    Accuracy of information, e.g.: estimated time of completion.

    Honest admission of faults. I consider this software to be mission critical, and place a high value on doing what is said. When inevitable faults occur, report them, and work in partnership with the forum, users and support personnel to fix them in a timely manner, while keeping users updated as to the status. Clearly state when issues are resolved. Otherwise, when something goes wrong, I am left wondering, what else may also go wrong, rather than trusting this program to function reliably.

    Forthright, timely communication about program updates and support for current versions.
     
  5. Kallex

    Kallex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Love the product, few feature requests inc:

    1. Full grade encryption support option for password protection. AES would be nice.

    Basically without this, basically any corporate data that has any value is too sensitive to be backed up by ATI to removable devices. Currently we use BackupAssist to re-backup the ATI images to provide the strong encryption. Of course we cannot backup these images as bootable restore DVDs.

    Edit: 7-zip is LGPL licensed seems to have all that's required for this... strong compression with AES encryption. http://www.7-zip.org/7z.html


    2. File/directory level exclusion to work also on full drive images. Without this option people are enforced to keep the backed up partitions clean of unbackuppable files such as Virtual Machine disks and encrypted virtual disks.

    Especially when using encrypted virtual disks, 20 gigabyte virtual data disk that regardless has to be backed up by other means, takes about 20 gigabytes of data in the final image (no, crypted data does not compress at all).
     
  6. kendor

    kendor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    A small enhancement would be if TI inserted the name of a new task in the new task window.

    Ken
     
  7. Jbmoar

    Jbmoar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    San Jose,Costa Rica
    I Would Suggest:

    1) Release 2 Or 3 Different Home Versions Of True Image. ( Complete Version Which Includes Everything,Light Version Which Only Includes Restores,Backups And Transfering To New Disk, Rescue CD Version Which is same as light Version But Works Only from CD

    Offering 3 or even 2 versions would probably increase acronis sales and Make current customers more happy who Use Only certain features That don't care to download a Huge 100mb+ File everytime there is a Update, Over the years Acronis True image has increased A LOt in size But not everone wants these extra features, very dificult everytime on dial-up especially when all you use are the basic features of True Image.
     
  8. ocostich

    ocostich Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    For scheduled tasks: changing the default options for backup and restore does not automatically update these parameters in previously scheduled tasks. In addition, you cannot edit the existing scheduled tasks and change the options because the dialog box that allows you to choose default vs custom options that is present in the create process is not available in the edit process.

    This makes it a real hassle to change the options for scheduled tasks. In fact, the only way to do this is to delete the defined scheduled task and create a new one.

    Remedies: Make the defaults for scheduled tasks change when the global defaults are changed, or at least put a switch for this under the options screen. Alternatively, at least put the ability to choose defaults or to customize in the edit process for defined scheduled tasks.

    I realize that this issue has been raised before but it wasn't fixed in V10.
     
  9. David07666

    David07666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Index on the help screen

    I can't believe that Help doesn't have an Index search. It's very frustrating trying to find something when all you remember is the key word
     
  10. acromech

    acromech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    TrueImage 10.0 trial:

    Default action for files when browsing .tib backup archives should not be Open, but Copy instead.
    Reason: Although it is nice to instantly open a e.g. text file directly from your backup, it annoys you for larger files. E.g. if you accidentally click onto a pgp encrypted disk file while browsing, it takes hours to get it out of the archive and mount it, probably crashes. Even for just some MB-sized files from a network share it'll take long. Certainly you want to extract those files first.
    Hence the default should either be changed for file (not for folders), or a warning message should be displayed for large files.
     
  11. acromech

    acromech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Integrate TI with tools like PGP Disk or TrueCrypt.
    Currently there seems to be no backup tool that can elegantly handle encrypted files.
    Crypting e.g. notebook harddisk gets more and more important, but making backups remains important. Currently there's no good way to combine both, but i think the market wants such solutions.
    It is a simple task to restore certain files (if small enough), but it takes too long to restore a file, if its somewhere inside a xyz.pgd or xyz.tc file as you need to restore the while GB-sized disk file first in order to mount it.

    It would be a killer feature if one could mount truecrypt or pgp disk files directly from within an backup archive (even via network attached storages). Probably it'll be enough to choose "no compression" to make it work, if the .tib format adds little overhead. E.g. as a first step TI could detect a .pgd and .tc file and instead of compressing it, just moving it into the archive to allow fast mounting or similar.

    Another alternative would be to combine backup and encryption software completely to have a fully transparent encrypted disk with remotely integrated backups or even revisioned backups. As only this way you could have incremental backups file based for files "inside" the encrypted disk instead of just the GB-file itself.
     
  12. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    True Image Home, Version 10

    Acronis, please stop the multiple validation of backups in the new Backup Location feature. Re-validating already validated backups makes no sense at all. Automatic validation of a new backup as it is created should be for that backup only, if users want to re-validate backups they have that choice. Please?
     
  13. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The same thing applies to the secure zone, to my knowledge since V8 through to V10.

    Get with it Acronis.

    Xpilot
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    new verifaction process stating if its corrupt say whats corrupt so if say its just one unimportant jpeg file for example and the rest is fine it will say completed but with errors and you can read the log saying one jpeg file corrupt but rest is in perfect condition
    lodore
     
  15. Tryton

    Tryton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Added Drivers for wireless cards, and have an "auto update button" built in to check for new builds.. thanks
     
  16. mbsolomon

    mbsolomon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I would be nice if Acronis True Image 10 would recognize the backup limit. As it now operates, it ignores the backup number limit and never creates a new full backup, adding an unlimited number of incrementals.
    Thanks
     
  17. rhs

    rhs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Wishlist:

    - Acronis license server for LINUX !!

    - Support that cares for the problems of paying customers :mad:
     
  18. 38956

    38956 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    England, UK
    Current Version (I'm using):
    • Acronis True Image Home version 10.0 (build 4871) ~ English [ MD5: 5d3d4ee6b8b53bb0637af4fb3a2f8f07 ]

    Wishlist
    -------
    • 1a. Extract images from Secure Zone to another HDD or burn to removeable media ect.. - feature has been already requested. Post #69 by lubert. Also see Post #130 by rdgrimes
    • 1b. Import .tib file images to Secure Zone from removeable media or another HDD ect..
    • 2. Add drivers to write/read Iomega Rev drives when using Rescue Media
    • 3. Add an option to make an boot floppy for use with bootable CD for old non-bootable CD/DVD Drives
    - - - (Bootable Rescue CD with Boot floppy for old non-bootable CD/DVD Drives like the old win95/98 Installation CD with boot floppy)

    Posts by others (also on my wishlist):
    • 12. Special Restore CD Licensing Options For PC Professionals. Post #54 by GeeeAus - also see Post #71 (no. 2) by Ozymandias
    • 2. right-click on image name(s) gives a context menu with these items: Post #391 by Acronisan
    • Improve the "Manage Acronis Secure Zone" window - read post 365 for more info Post #365 by boblite
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2006
  19. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    White Popup Task Details Stupid

    1st Picture: White Task Details Popup - This is Really Stupid. The popup is annoying, doesn't fit all information, isn't scrollable and disappears while I'm reading it!
     

    Attached Files:

  20. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    2nd Picture: This is SMART -Settings Displayed on scrollable left panel.

    Acronis PLEASE fix this design flaw. Thank You!
     

    Attached Files:

  21. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Enable Right Clicking on Tasks

    Please re-enable the right clicking on tasks. For example, I would like to right click on a task and select edit. Why was this removed? Right clicking is good. Thank You.
     
  22. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Scheduler Start Date: Please add this to your scheduler (like with Windows Task Scheduler): Start Date. This way, if we setup a task we can specify the date it should run for the first time


    Task Information: Display "Next Run Time" for scheduled tasks.
     
  23. mbsolomon

    mbsolomon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    When I have a backup plan that allows 7 backups in the backup location, after the 8th backup, Acronis then does another full backup and reshuffles the incrementals so that there are still 7 backups. But when Acronis finishes its 8th backup, the "Status" window says that there are only a few seconds remaining for the task, but that is not true. At that point, the full backup begins and it may be one or two more hours before the task is finished. This then appears to the user that the program is hung up. There is no indication given to the user that things are working correctly. There needs to be a message given at the end of the 8th incremental in this case, that a new full backup has started so that the user does not reboot or prematurely terminate Acronis.
     
  24. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Some of the 'wish-list' items above are more in the nature of bugs or deficiencies with existing features.
    Users with such issues are more likely to get a better response if they submit a support request direct to Acronis at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/
     
  25. tomavil

    tomavil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Network interface awareness/binding for the client:

    1. throttle wlan/vpn/lan per interface (or interface type)
    2. in task settings "run task only if select interface(s) active" (never try backup over bluetooth...)

    -T
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.