Acronis True Image Home Secure Zone - unable to create

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ashes8587, May 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashes8587

    ashes8587 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have the trial version of True Image Home 11 running on vista. I can make backups to external disk, but I get a message "Acronis True Image Home was unable to create Acronis Secure Zone on this drive" no matter which partition I chose. Plenty of disk space available.

    Any clues?

    Many thanks

    Ash
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you trying to create the SZ on the external drive? (This is generally not recommended.)

    How many primary partitions are on the drive?
     
  3. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    If you will backup to an external drive, you don't need the Secure Zone. Secure Zone is intended primarily for people who don't have a second drive to backup to.

    Some people have trouble when they create the Secure Zone. (In my case it made my entire system disk unbootable and unrecoverable.) It works well for some people, but not for others. If you have a better alternative, such as an external drive, then I recommend against the Secure Zone.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ashes8587,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure there aren't already 4 primary partitions on the drive, as in that case more partitions cannot be created (including Acronis Secure Zone).

    If that's not the case, please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    - Reinstall Acronis drivers with enabled logging;
    - Reproduce the issue and collect the log file without closing any application windows (including the error message windows if there are any). The log file will be created at C:\ . The name of the log file will be snapapi [date-time].log

    Please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep the drive in question connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Please notice that, as pointed by MudCrab, it's generally not recommended to create Acronis Secure Zone on an external drive. Please see this Acronis KB article for explanations.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. ashes8587

    ashes8587 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Many thanks to all - I will check out this later today and get back to you

    Cheers:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.