Acronis True Image Home 2010:

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by apathy, Sep 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    Me and Acronis have had a love/hate relationship. Their products have had so much potential and yet it has had a fundamental flaw. Acronis products have great features but if it doesn't backup and restore reliably then there is no reason to use it.

    Acronis True Image Home 2010 has learned much from ShadowProtect, but the question remains if they have applied what they learned into this product. I have struggled with Windows 7 compat problems with my favorite backup software and that has left me looking for other options.

    Acronis now has continuous incremental backups but they call it 'Non stop backup' which has a Time Machine like interface so you can restore files from certain dates and such but I don't see an option where you can specify the time to do these backups like from 7am to 5pm or something like that. I will be testing this function out thoroughly to see if it is as good as advertised.

    Windows 7's internal backup system is also compatible with Acronis and there is a nice boot system where you can boot to an archive from True Image or the default Windows Backup. You can convert between the two which is a nice touch.

    True Image 2010 has a backup system where instead of mounting an archive you can click on it and it displays all the folders and files and you can easily copy them. I am not sure if TI2010 can restore an OS on another machine using Universal Restore.

    The interface is clean and functional. I will put True Image 2010 through hell and report back.

    EDIT: Ugh the nonstop backup module takes up 168mb and there are no real options to control it.
    The interface is pretty nice but isn't that feature rich.

    Screenshots: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/screenshots.html
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  2. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Yes please do that. I am considering upgrading to Acronis 2010 when my Win7 order comes in next month. It would be nice to read your comments after putting the new version through extensive testing.:thumb:
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    any screenshots?
     
  4. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its a nice simple interface, i like it
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    ATI is bloated beyond belief. I won't use it just because of that.
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    seems pretty simple and straightforward to me, how is it bloated?
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown

    The demo is 110.4 MB. In comparison, Drive Snapshot is 250kb, ShadowProtect is 16MB, Image for Windows is 7MB. The installation package is bigger than John Goodman.
     
  9. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    I'm still using true image 10 and it is a good software. True image does something many of the other imaging softwares won't do, it lets you restore a larger partition onto a smaller partition even the vaunted shadowprotect won't do that.

    If I upgrade to windows seven, I might finally update my true image. I tested the demos of the previous true image 11/12 and never encountered any problems.

    True image isn't any more bloated than vista or seven. It's normal progress in software development.
     
  10. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I use ATI 2009, I don't have it installed though. I just use the acronis recovery manager at boot up and do all of my backups and restores from that. I don't need it running real time on my pc. One thing I will say about Acronis is that I never had any problems with my images after they were restored. It has always been reliable to me. I don't have it installed though, so I can't say much about that aspect. When I did have it installed about a year ago on Vistax64, I had a few issues with it. Slowing down windows startup, and when I would open the program it would take forever it seemed to scan the disks. I was told that a hotfix for vista fixed the issue, but I had already uninstalled it then and started just using the recovery manager. Probably will do the same with Win7. I know that I would browse their forum every now and then and there seemed to be a lot more people upset with the product than you would see in your average forum.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2009
  11. coen99

    coen99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    I really like the new "Try & Decide" feature !! :thumb:

     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    is it strong?
    i tested acronis 2009 try&decide feature with killdisk viruses, system was damaged.
    i dont know how is new version.
     
  13. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    The trial installer included the bootable ISO, I think...
     
  14. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    An imaging program that isn't virtually 100% reliable is completely worthless. I dumped Acronis long ago for Paragon Drive Backup, and have never had to worry since. It has saved my system numerous times.

    There seem to be numerous other reliable ones out there too. There is just no reason to agonize over Acronis.
     
  15. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    And you call an application bloated simply because of the installation size?! What a ridiculous statement. Try out G-Data IS 2010 and you'll have kittens! (245mb installation file).

    By the way, being using ATI 2010 since it was released and not had any problems - just like my experience with 2009 I used before that. But hey, go with what you know and what works for you.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    agreed plus version 9 didnt work for me and left drivers and services behind after uninstall.
     
  17. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    What happened to the Acronis Forum? - I come back and its gone!
     
  18. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Try and Decide has been around for a couple years. It's basically leverages the volume shadowing capability of TI into a Shadow Defender/Returnil-like security feature. I haven't used it in a while but I recall it being slightly sluggish compared to Shadow Defender.
     
  20. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Same here, Acronis lost me when I upgraded to Vista and it wouldn't create reliable images or restore them properly. Additionally, their tech support was horrible.
     
  21. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    A quick look in their forums suggests that nothing much has changed. Several users are reporting serious bugs (ie. BSOD) with the Try&Decide filter driver.
     
  22. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    I've been using the Acronis Continuous Backup
    and it is very useful. It has a time machine like interface to restore
    files and the running app uses around 43MB. You can exclude data. I got it down to just continually backing up the application data of the administrator. You can validate all backups in the options. The main acronis app is a memory hog but this years versions has some nice features. One feature I don't see is how to burn your backup as a restore disk.
     
  23. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I have not used Acronis products...for more than a year, because it failed twice to restore my pc. Then I decided to try Paragon's products and never looked back again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.