Acronis True Image Home 2009 with Windows 7

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dpokluda, Dec 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dpokluda

    dpokluda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Hi, it seems that ATIH2009 fails to install with Windows 7. It might be expected since Windows 7
    has not been released yet, but... Would it be possible to have a working setup when beta 1 is released?
    Or do you know about a workaround so that I can install ATIH2009?

    The setup log is here (just the portion with the failure):

    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:10:587]: Executing op: CustomActionSchedule(Action=_USRCUSTACT_MsiUpdateASZ_TrueImageSecZone,ActionType=3073,
    Source=BinaryData,Target=MsiUpdateASZ,CustomActionData=C:\Users\dpokluda\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp312D.tmp)
    MSI (s) (E4:0C) [16:04:10:592]: Invoking remote custom action. DLL: C:\Windows\Installer\MSI5D9B.tmp, Entrypoint: MsiUpdateASZ
    MSI (s) (E4 [16:04:10:592]: Generating random cookie.
    MSI (s) (E4 [16:04:10:595]: Created Custom Action Server with PID 3564 (0xDEC).
    MSI (s) (E4:70) [16:04:10:647]: Running as a service.
    MSI (s) (E4:70) [16:04:10:650]: Hello, I'm your 32bit Elevated custom action server.
    1: MSIGEN:ASZUpdater: ASZ was installed and updating in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\".
    1: MSIGEN:ASZUpdater : WorkingDir found C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome
    1: MSIGEN:Command line: "--install" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome" "1"
    1: MSIGEN:Update completed with code = 0
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:253]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=_USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanRollback_SnapAPI,,)
    Action 16:04:20: _USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanRollback_SnapAPI.
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:258]: Executing op: CustomActionSchedule(Action=_USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanRollback_SnapAPI,ActionType=3329,Source=
    BinaryData,Target=MsiSnapmanRollback,CustomActionData=C:\Users\dpokluda\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp312D.tmp)
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:273]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=_USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanInstall_SnapAPI,,)
    Action 16:04:20: _USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanInstall_SnapAPI.
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:278]: Executing op: CustomActionSchedule(Action=_USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanInstall_SnapAPI,ActionType=3073,Source=
    BinaryData,Target=MsiSnapmanInstall,CustomActionData=C:\Users\dpokluda\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp312D.tmp)
    MSI (s) (E4:54) [16:04:20:283]: Invoking remote custom action. DLL: C:\Windows\Installer\MSI8383.tmp, Entrypoint: MsiSnapmanInstall
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Execution started.
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Path to SnapAPI DLL: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\snapapi.dll
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Driver installation required.
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Driver files extracted successfully.
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: windows major version 6 detected
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Extract setup dll.
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: Setup helper DLL configured successfully.
    1: MSIGEN:MsiSnapmanInstall: SnapAPI installation completed - 0x430.
    CustomAction _USRCUSTACT_MsiSnapmanInstall_SnapAPI returned actual error code 1603 (note this may not be 100% accurate
    if translation happened inside sandbox)
    Action ended 16:04:20: InstallFinalize. Return value 3.
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:471]: User policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:471]: Machine policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:486]: Executing op: Header(Signature=1397708873,Version=500,Timestamp=965771396,LangId=1033,Platform=0,ScriptType=
    2,ScriptMajorVersion=21,
    ScriptMinorVersion=4,ScriptAttributes=1)
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:486]: Executing op: DialogInfo(Type=0,Argument=1033)
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:486]: Executing op: DialogInfo(Type=1,Argument=Acronis*True*Image*Home)
    MSI (s) (E4:F0) [16:04:20:486]: Executing op: RollbackInfo(,RollbackAction=Rollback,RollbackDescription=Rolling back action:,RollbackTemplate=[1],CleanupAction=RollbackCleanup,CleanupDescription=Removing backup files,CleanupTemplate=File: [1])
    Action 16:04:20: Rollback. Rolling back action:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Install ATI 2009 on a non-windows7 system, make the Rescue CD and that cd will backup and restore the Win 7 system.
     
  3. dpokluda

    dpokluda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I would like to have a scheduled task that backs-up my data. For this to be an automated task I need to be able to install ATIH2009 on my system (Windows 7).
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dpokluda and DwnNdrty,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    dpokluda, thank you for the provided log file, according to it SnapAPI driver installation fails (for general information please check this article). Please do not install common update as described in this forum (it applies for previous versions of our software). In your case, you should update your driver to Build 380.

    Please check your private messages.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  5. cmajkrzak

    cmajkrzak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I actually just ran into this issue myself, I tried the latest build 9646 but it seemed to be the same end result. I didn't understand the answer posted above, is there a way to work around this at the moment?

    Thanks!
     
  6. VikingNor

    VikingNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I would also be very grateful for a detailed explanation of how to install the latest version of True Image on Windows 7. o_O

    Edit:
    I read a review of Windows 7 were installation worked fine, so I decided it was worth a shot. Installation worked fine with the latest version of TI2009 :-D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  7. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Hi,

    for me it sounds like there is a beta version of snapman which support Windows 7 Beta...

    I would like to have it too... the first results of Windows 7 on my system are looking amazing (compared to Windows Vista).

    I think my system will stay at Windows 7.. ;-)

    Volker
     
  8. BrownGhost

    BrownGhost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    i secound this, i need to know.
    when will Acronis True Image Home 2009 support Windows 7o_O
    or how to install it on win 7...
    so i can access my backops and get the things i need..
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I agree ... Win 7 is the answer for all Vista users who dislike Vista. For now, until True Image catches up, the Rescue CD will backup Win 7.
     
  10. Zardoc

    Zardoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    I'm sorry. I just noticed a double post.

    I have been a backup kid since Drive Image.

    So Acronis is my favorite backup for the moment but it drags with Win 7. I don't like the new user interface with 2009 and I'm afraid, like I mentioned on my other post, that this going in the bloatwaredirection.

    So far, the end result with Win 7 is the same as in my post. CD backup. :ninja:
     
  11. dpokluda

    dpokluda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    So did you guys managed to install the latest TI2009 on beta of Windows 7? I can't do that! If you can, please post the steps.

    Thanks,
    David.
     
  12. BrownGhost

    BrownGhost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    only rescure stuff can be installed
    make rescue bood disk, then you can restore and made backops in DOS :)


    But the programe it selv TI2009 can't be installed ;/ :oops:
     
  13. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I think it expecting a bit much to have any version of TI to work on a non RTM version of an OS. Hopefully though Acronis have access to the software developers program, so that at release date - all will be well.

    As W7 is Vista or even parts of Server 2008 revisited, it might be if you can't install TI that you need to right click and install under Admin, even if your log on has admin rights - this has already popped up with some CAD design software.

    I intend to do battle this weekend.

    Colin
     
  14. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Agreed it would be nice if a fix could be provided so Acronis 2009 could be installed on Windows 7. :)

    Tried a few times and could not get it to install.

    As a side note I did manage to install O&O DiskImage V3 ok.
    (Edit 14th Jan - I think it only fair to update - I tried to mount the O&O image I created to test O&O - and it caused a BSOD)
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
  15. dpokluda

    dpokluda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I have no luck with installing ATIH2009 on Win7. On the other hand I have verified that when I backup and later restore Win7 partition from Acronis Rescue Media CD, it all works perfectly. But no luck installing and scheduling backup tasks from within the system. :-(
     
  16. draman

    draman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    AFTER INSTALLING WINDOWS 7 I WAS ABLE TO INSTALLED TRUE IMAGE 11 SUCCESSFULLY AND TOOK BACKUP ALSO. BUT SO FAR NOT TRIED TO RESTORE.
     
  17. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Just for info, I did manage to install it on Windows 7 *32, but not managed to install it on either of my Windows 7 *64 PC's.

    Tried both the .exe and .msi
    As mentioned by others there is no continuity why some have been able to and others have not. :doubt:
     
  18. Mark_Phelps

    Mark_Phelps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    38
    Was able to install ATI Home 2009, builds 9615 and 9646, on Windows 7 beta without any difficulty. So, it's not a general "ATI 2009 doesn't install on Windows 7" problem.

    But .... given that Seven is only in Beta at the moment, there's no official word (that I could find) when the next Beta or Release Candidate will be out, and we're MONTHS away from the RTM version, it's highly likely that there will NOT be a fix in the interim.

    If they follow the "standard pattern" with Windows 7, there will be a new version, it won't work for crap, they'll issue a patch for that several months later, and folks will then complain (quite rightly) for the next year about how it STILL doesn't work.

    From what I've read here, Acronis has their hands full making ATI Home 2009 work on Vista; expecting them to get it ALSO working on Seven at this time is unrealistic.
     
  19. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    I have installed TI 2009 without issue on W7 from within MS VPC - a bit slow but it got there and even performed backup without issue.
     
  20. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    PS. further update - I have now done a restore and this worked perfectly too. I used USB stick as source via network and it all worked a treat - very quick too. So TI 2009 works flawlessly for me with Vista and W7 :D
     
  21. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Faust,

    Was is the 32-bit version of Windows 7?
     
  22. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    Yes it was - I think the consensus seems to be to leave 64-bit alone
     
  23. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    One Caveat I would like to put forward - having looked and worked with W7 for quite a few days now I cannot see any good reason why Vista users would want to upgrade to W7. It's the same kernel and basically Vista in a different dress.

    I do accept that for MS this so called new OS allows them to draw a line under all the undeserved bad press Vista has received.
     
  24. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Sort of. There have been many improvements to the kernel that result in faster performance. MS has spent a lot of time searching for and eliminating some of the bottlenecks in the core functions of the Vista/Server 2008 kernel.

    I installed Win7 on a 4-yr old laptop that has outdated hardware, only 1 GB of RAM, a slow processor and an extremely slow disk and was blown away by Win7's performance. The machine basically does everything twice as fast as WinXP, including boot time, standby time, application start time and the perceived speed of operation. So I would argue that if you have older hardware you will definitely want to consider Win7.

    Your observations about the appearance are correct - Win7 looks very much like Vista and has added only a few changes to the UI. I'm still trying to decide if the UI changes are for the better or not.
     
  25. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    I've used all the Win7 builds "available", both 32 and 64 bit. I currently have Ultimate 64 and Home Premium 64 installed, along with Vista Ultimate 64. Win7 is very similar, no doubt about that. The performance is better and I prefer the new "dress". The best description I've seen of Win 7 is that it is "what Vista should have been".

    All of the software/hardware I installed/used with Vista, works with Win7 - one exception, ATI 2009 will not install in Win 7 64 bit. I have ATI 10 installed in all 3 OSs, works great.

    When the time comes, I'll probably buy Win 7 Home Premium 64 and dual boot with Vista Ultimate 64.

    JMO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.