acronis true image has not found any hard disk drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by yonkiman, Aug 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yonkiman

    yonkiman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I just installed a SATA drive on my PC (Asus K8N-E Deluxe MB, Silicon Image 3114 SATA chip). When I run TI now, it immediately says "acronis true image has not found any hard disk drives", which I find unexpected, since I was running Windows from a parallel ATA hard drive that TI used to find.

    So what's up? Partition Magic 8.0 (from the year 2003) sees both my SATA and PATA drives just fine. How come the latest TI 8 (build 903) can't see either?

    Help?

    Thanks,
    Fred
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, yonkiman

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis Forums.

    I have the same MB, just tested the latest build on it, to answer another question for somebody, no problems with it here. [as with all the later builds of Ti8]

    Where is this in Windows or from the BootCD [if you made one].

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello yonkiman,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download and install the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If that does not help then please download and install the latest version of Acronis drivers with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then enable logging by running the installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file.

    Please also create Acronis Report and Linux system information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Send all the collected filed to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  4. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Alexey

    With disk overlay software like Goback will TrueImage find the disk or ignore them because of the MBR pertition ID type?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello starfish_001,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We recommend you to disable or even to uninstall any disk overlay software like Norton Goback prior to using Acronis True Image 8.0, as such kind of a software requires an exclusive access to the hard drive and might block the access to your disk for the applications like Acronis True Image 8.0.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Alexey,

    Thanks

    But true Image 8 can read partition GoBack Id 44?


    My understanding was that I can use them together but if I reinstall a TI them the recent changes in GB would be lost.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello starfish_001,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    You can read this information on our web-site:

    Acronis True Image 8.0 is compatible with Norton GoBack, but for specific Acronis functions, you will need to disable Norton GoBack:

    * If you start Acronis True Image 8.0 from the bootable rescue media.
    * If you want to restore an image archive.
    * If you want to create, resize or delete the Acronis Secure Zone.

    Please note that after restoring an image archive, the history of Norton GoBack stored on the target hard drive is automatically lost.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.