Acronis True Image + FAT32 USB Drive = ??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hitech444, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hitech444

    hitech444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Hi all,
    I tried to make a HD backup with Acronis True Image Workstation on a USB stick (8GB) but the process never finished (although it didn't crash). I noticed that the Stick was formated as FAT32. Do you see another reason for the incident ?

    Thanks in advance for your time!
    John
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    How much is the used space on the drive you're trying to back up?
     
  3. hitech444

    hitech444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    It's about 2 - 2.5GB.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I have backed up to a FAT 32 usb hard drive but never to a usb stick. But I don't see why it wouldn't work. Did you try it a few times? Did you try it from within Windows or from the Bootable True Image CD?
     
  5. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    I just tried several backups to my USB stick which is a massive 256Mb lol. I only use it to carry my acerose secured passwords and photo images for me dad. Although the mem stick does not come up as a backup location, I can save a tib file to it and it is definitely FAT32.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    hitech444,

    Is the flashdrive plugged directly into the computer or into a hub? If a hub or front ports, you might try a rear USB port and see if it makes a difference.

    The FAT32 format shoudn't be a problem.

    Otherwise, can't you backup to an internal drive and copy the TIB to the flashdrive? It may even be faster to do it that way.
     
  7. hitech444

    hitech444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Things are worse than that!!! Today I tried to backup to a USB HD. Same problem... The USB HD (or the stick used before) are plugged directly to the motherboard. Then Acronis (I used the bootable disk "Acronis True Image Workstation with Universal Restore") sees them as drive A: .
    It starts OK, says 4 minutes remaining but it never finishes.

    The funny thing is that I have images taken with same bootable disk (but on a different motherboard). And on a USB HD !!!. What's going on here? :'(
     
  8. dbrown

    dbrown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Maine
    I haven't had a problem with my thumb drive nor my external. Although both are NTFS.

    Titanium Cruzer 4Gb
    500Gb Maxtor External
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hitech444,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep the drive in question connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.