Acronis True Image: Backing up an XP / Ubuntu dual boot system

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by welshmike, May 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. welshmike

welshmike Registered Member

I'm a newbie to this forum and have successfully used Acronis True Image 11 in the past to backup and restore my XP system.
    Today I completed installing Ubuntu 9.04 and am keeping XP for a while.
    What advice do forum members have please about backing up my dual boot system?
    I would like to back up XP and Ubuntu separately so that if I need to I can restore them separately.

Thanks in advance

Mike
    P.S. I played with Ubuntu 8.04 WUBI then moved to dual boot. I've found Ubuntu 9.04 an impressive improvement on 8.04. Congratulations to the people who write and support Ubuntu. So now I'm planning to minimise my use of XP.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

I would have done this by making a Backup of XP before installing Ubuntu, then nuke XP and instal Ubuntu on its own. This way you can re-install each one seperately.

Supposedly True Image will let you instal only the partition you want in a dual boot situation, but I've never tried this. Kolo will be able to set you straight on this.

3. welshmike

welshmike Registered Member

DwnNdrty

Thanks for your prompt reply.
    There a some things I haven't yet been able to do on Ubuntu so I need to be able to run XP using a reboot rather than wait while a restore takes place.
    I'll await Kolo's advice re backing up individual systems although I'm going to run ATI on XP to back up My Computer" Disk 1 (the whole of my laptop's hard drive) until then.

When I've eventually dumped XP I'll need to find a way of backing up and being able to restore Ubuntu, maybe by booting ATI from its CD?

Cheers, Mike.

4. K0LO

K0LO Registered Member

Mike: