ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE 10 ISSUE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dpaulak, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dpaulak

    dpaulak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    hello folks, first time on here.. just downloaded acronis10 true image upgrade today 10/17/06...been using acronis 8.0/version 937..after install of acronis 10 been having an issue when right clicking anything from icons/docs/folders...etc my pc locks up..proceed into task manager and select restart to see what happens again...same issue..so i re-booted again and navigated thru a number of tasks on my xp system making sure i didnot right click...made a backup image and proceeded to try other functions/applications and all went well....so i proceeded to right click a text file that had some old info on it buried in my c/drive and pc lock up...uninstalled acronis 10...all went well...installed it again...same issue...even un-installed previous 8.0 version..(which installed doc stated i didnot have to) same issue again...any thoughts on this some what strange occurance..nothing posted on acronis site..course this is quite new on the market...put a post into tech support..but thought i throw it out to you folks for any suggestions. always have had great success with my 8.0 versions worked flawless.any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.thank you
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I wonder if there is something left in registry from v8 that is causing a problem?

    I suggest going into XP safe mode - then go to the run button and type in services.msc, then disable the Acronis background stuff timounter etc. Close services reboot and see what happens.

    If you boot OK then it is the Acronis background services that are having a problem - if not then I suspect the registry might be a place to look - but not tinker.

    Colin
     
  3. dpaulak

    dpaulak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    thx, appreciate the input..will try that..will respond with results
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello dpaulak,

    Under TI 8.0, clicking on a .tib file opened True Image in "Plug (mount)" mode. In TI 9.0 (and therefore I assume TI 10 also) this changed, whereby right clicking on a .tib file opens the Windows Explorer context menu and allows you to either Restore or Mount the image.

    As Colin indicated, it looks as if something has gone awry in the Registry regarding Window Explorer's context menu handling.

    Regards
     
  5. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
  6. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    Can anyone say, Deja Vuo_O You mean the very first post of a user that comes along and downloads the newly, fresh, just taken from it's crate product...and boom, here's the first problem issue!!! This is sadly hilarious.

    :isay:
     
  7. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    As long as it is the only error report, I would say there is nothing to find hilarious yet...
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    sadly predictable, more like

    F.
     
  9. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I meant that it is hilarious in a sarcastic vein. To start this "new" issue off with any error, from any user, just means it's deja vu once again.
     
  10. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Dude :

    1. this isn't helping the guy
    2. it's not relevant
    3. this is a support forum. People come here when things don't work for them. If people came and posted every time something worked the problem threads would be burried.

    Fairy
     
  11. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Laughs!!! I agree with you Allen, and Fog.

    I can hear a voice that says...."Run for the Hills. Take Cover. Save yourselves!" :blink:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2006
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Thanks for the link beenthereb4. Although it doesn't appear to identify any True Image shell extentions it does seem like a useful little program nevertheless.

    Regards
     
  13. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Well, duh! You are so right, they are not there. Back to the drawing board!
     
  14. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    We know it doesn't help ... but when you've been around here a long time like some of the others you can't help but feel the way they feel.
     
  15. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Let it go guys otherwise one of the Moderators will start knocking heads together ;).

    Regards
     
  16. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    That's more than enough. One Off-topic post removed. Let's stay on-topic which means posts about the actual support issue raised by the original poster.
     
  17. dpaulak

    dpaulak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    well thought i throw a bit more of info in between my class.tryed the disable of services for acronis..same issue rears its ugly head..but did notice when i right click on anything in a open web page all is ok...but when right clicking on any such open folder/icon and such in windows the lock up happens.once again i do appreciate you folks providing me with some input and direction..well attack this after my class. i did try once more to un-install TI 10 and re-install same results..good when not installed.
     
  18. dpaulak

    dpaulak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    thought i respond and let all know i resovled my right click lock up problem..well it has been trouble free for 3hrs so far and with the problem before rearing its ugly head after 20 secs i am pretty darn happy..for what it is worth for those that would be interested...i decided to do a xp repair install..the repair choice that is presented after hitting the f8 key to agree..not the 1st repair option xp screen shows..also did a clean up with the registry....am a happy camper i always have and always will enjoy the acronis products..being an automotive instructor for 21 years and in the industry for 10+ years i am used of computer glitches happening for any reason be it the moon wasn't blue or i burped or what ever...but i do know ya have to have a level head when approaching any type of glitch that has popped up...passing comment on the manufacture or application of a item will not help in your diagnostics of comming to a solution that will resolved glitches...my hat is off to all the folks that lent there expertise and or advice in this forum...thank you very much for taking the time to respond..dpaulak
     
  19. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi dpaulak,

    Pleased to hear that you managed to sort the problem :thumb:. Hopefully, the Windows Registry corruption caused by the initial installation of TI 10 was a spurious, one-off, event. Whoever said that computers are logical devices? :D

    Regards
     
  20. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi Menorcaman,

    if he was still alive, I bet George Boole would have probably done so :D

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.