Acronis TI9 not recognizing CD/DVD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by KnotWurthy, Jun 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KnotWurthy

    KnotWurthy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hello, I purchased Acronis True Image 9 and have been using it on an older Gateway desktop. I created the Recovery CD and it works great on the Gateway. I tried using it today on my newer Toshiba laptop. I tried loading both safe and full modes. When I try to backup or recover the software gives the following messages:
    "ide0: ports already in use, skipping probe"
    "ide1: ports already in use, skipping probe"
    The software boots of the DVD Drive but does not show it as available on either backup or recovery. This same TI9 CD works on the Gateway. I even tried defaulting the laptop bios. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you downloaded the TI 10 trial version and tried that? It's probably a driver issue with TI 9 on the newer hardware.
     
  3. KnotWurthy

    KnotWurthy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Good idea MudCrab . I'll try that. Thank you.
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Are you using the latest build of TI 3954 or 3677?
     
  5. KnotWurthy

    KnotWurthy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I bought this at Comp USA in January of 2007. The CD does not say home, workstation, or server. It only says "Acronis True Image 9.0." The Boot recovery CD shows the build as "2.323" with file date and time stamps of 11/13/2006 12:06am. Is it possible to get the latest build? My workaround is to back up to a different logical drive and restore from there. Having a laptop with one drive creates a dangerous situation if it ever crashes, so I burnt the image to a DVD. Acronis currently not recognizing any CD/DVD poses a problem. At least I have it on a different medium.
    I also re-flashed the laptop BIOS to the latest Toshiba version. Symptoms were the same.
    I did download TI10 Home trial, have not tried it yet.
    Thanks for all who are helping.
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Go to www.Acronis.com and register your software serial number and then you can download the latest build(they're free). Direct to DVD burning was not implemented in V9 until build 3567 and up. You have a very old build that does not support direct to DVD burning. I would recommend an external hard drive for backing up your images for the laptop. You can still split them if you wish to and then burn to DVD. DVD burning is not the best approach. Search the forum for DVD burning and you will find lots of issues.
     
  7. KnotWurthy

    KnotWurthy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I have started the registration process but have not received the email to complete the registration as of yet. I am still concerned that even the newer build of True Image 9.0 or Home 10 will not be able to see the DVD drive. I will post a question to Toshiba but I still do not understand how the software can boot from the DVD and not see the drive to backup to or recover from. The same process on the Gateway works fine. The meaning of the two Acronis IDE error codes remains a mystery.
    Thank you all again.
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The computer's BIOS boots the cd. Once the OS on the cd takes over, if it doesn't support the drive (due to lack of chipset support, or whatever) then it may not be able to read or write to it.

    This partitcular problem was very apparent recently with the P965/G965 Intel chipsets using the JMicron chip when trying to boot into any version of Linux (including the one Acronis used). The cd will begin to boot, but then all of a sudden there's an error message stating that it can find the files (even though it was just reading from the drive to boot).
     
  9. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    As Mudcrab has explained it is the Linux drivers on the rescue CD that are causing the problem. If you search the forums you will see that this is quite a common issue. One way to avoid this is to use BartPE Begginer's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD which uses windows drivers. Mustang has developed Mustang's BartPE Plugins which work quite well during a restore. I can't use the Linux rescue CD on my older Gateway Desktop because the full version has never worked and the safe version does not see my external USB drive. Can you post more details about your hardware?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.