Acronis TI 8 or TI 10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TerryWood, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    I am not a guru on backup and recovery software but I can say that I have been using TI 8 for 18 months now without a single problem or failed image recovery (Win XP SP2) I have used FDISR and it failed me so I had to use TI 8 to bail me out.

    Similarly, I fail to see a compelling case for Powershadow RollBack RX, ShadowUser et al when Acronis supplies the key ingredient flawlessly.

    So I now want to ask the forum experts what is the benefit of moving to TI 10 over TI 8? The latter meets my needs I think. Apart from Vista compatibility and an element of obsolescence proofing what else does TI 10 offer over TI 8.

    I use Firefox and Thunderbird mainly and back up to external USB drive including the Acronis images.


    Thanks in anticipation of some sage commentary.

    Terry
     
  2. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Terry,

    Re ATI 8 vs ATI 10, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". ...i.e., as long as v8 supports your hardware and OS, my advice is to leave well enough alone.

    Re building a case for one of the 'intant restore' programs, I can only comment about Rollback Rx Pro, with which I have considerable experience (along with ATI). While I agree with what you said about ATI providing all the key (backup) ingredients, what RB brings to the table is a huge convenience factor (10-seconds to take a snapshot of my entire C-partition and 30 seconds to restore it)! Short of a disaster-recovery situation, where there is no substitute for disk-imaging/cloning software (e.g., ATI), I use RB exclusively for intra-day backups and I wouldn't be without it. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  3. dougeeebear

    dougeeebear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    I agree with this 100%.
     
  4. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I still use 8, 9, and 9.1 on some machines. As I still use Xp and only make and restore full images I don't think that 10 really adds anything. I just keep buying each new version because I like to collect software but being really practical I'm sure that if 8 works then there is no real gain.

    I'm surprised that you had problems with FD-ISR I use if everyday on one machine for testing software. I must have copied and booted to different snap shots hundreds of times and had no problem
     
  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Thanks for mentioning RB. I have just downloaded and tried it on a machine which has 2 FD-ISR snapshots. As you say very quick.

    do I understand you correctly. With Acronis you make a system image and then use RB during the day to go back after trying out new programs etc ?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello TerryWood,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I would recommend that you have a look at this previous post of mine, which contains links to the threads about new features of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home, which can help you to make a choice.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    "If it works, don't fix it is very good advice if you never want any improvement in your life."

    However, you check out the features in 10 -- you can even try 10 for free -- and see if you like the features -- if not, then stick with 8.

    Worst comes to worst and for some inexplilcable reason using 10 whacks out your computer, you can always do a restore back to the way it was before since you're already using 8.

    ;-)
     
  8. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    I upgraded from version 8.0 to 9.0 just to have the latest version. But the only feature I use on 9.0 is partition imaging, not even full disk backup or clone. Works the same as 8.0. If I upgrade to 10.0, I will probably only use partition imaging because it's what I'm most comfortable with. This time I'll upgrade to version 10 when I get Vista on my computer. Even though this program can do alot, I only use it to backup my c: partition for emergency's. But I do use powershadow for testing out new programs or when using the internet for immediate recovery. Even though you can recover with true image, I prefer to do a partition restore only in an emergency. If version 8.0 works for you, why change.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.