Acronis TI 8 or TI 10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TerryWood, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

I am not a guru on backup and recovery software but I can say that I have been using TI 8 for 18 months now without a single problem or failed image recovery (Win XP SP2) I have used FDISR and it failed me so I had to use TI 8 to bail me out.

Similarly, I fail to see a compelling case for Powershadow RollBack RX, ShadowUser et al when Acronis supplies the key ingredient flawlessly.

So I now want to ask the forum experts what is the benefit of moving to TI 10 over TI 8? The latter meets my needs I think. Apart from Vista compatibility and an element of obsolescence proofing what else does TI 10 offer over TI 8.

I use Firefox and Thunderbird mainly and back up to external USB drive including the Acronis images.

Thanks in anticipation of some sage commentary.

Terry

2. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

Terry,

Re ATI 8 vs ATI 10, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". ...i.e., as long as v8 supports your hardware and OS, my advice is to leave well enough alone.

Re building a case for one of the 'intant restore' programs, I can only comment about Rollback Rx Pro, with which I have considerable experience (along with ATI). While I agree with what you said about ATI providing all the key (backup) ingredients, what RB brings to the table is a huge convenience factor (10-seconds to take a snapshot of my entire C-partition and 30 seconds to restore it)! Short of a disaster-recovery situation, where there is no substitute for disk-imaging/cloning software (e.g., ATI), I use RB exclusively for intra-day backups and I wouldn't be without it. :thumb:

Last edited: May 29, 2007
  3. dougeeebear

dougeeebear Registered Member

I agree with this 100%.

4. Long View

Long View Registered Member