Acronis TI 2009: Regarding the 4 Startup Processes...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cybernomad, Jan 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cybernomad

    cybernomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Hi,

    No, please don't get me wrong. I really searched the forum for this and found loads of info on this topic. I came to know about various aspects of these processes. which confused me a lot. To let the processes run or not to run. In starting this thread, i want to add another dimension to this story.

    The software has been designed as a very handy backup tool which once configured would automatically take back-ups, thus making you safe without a considerable effort on your part. That is the basic premise for backup software. And that is why those processes, i think, so that you don't have to process anything.

    But what if a person wants to do everything by himself. Like I have no scheduled backups running nor do i use ASR or TI SZ. I do my backups manually, as required ie before installing a software known to create havoc and so on. So in this scenario what processes are required to run. I mean, I use TI only for manual backups, period.

    The process and the memory they use are as follows: TimounterMonitor.exe - 6468 K, TrueImageMonitor.exe - 17308 K, Schedhlp.exe - 3012 K, schedul2.exe - 2880 K.

    I am running XP Pro SP3 on a D101GGC MoBo, P4 2.66 GHz, 1.5 GB DDR1 400MHz Ram. The RAM is adequate enough for the above processes. However what i wanna know is what is required and what is not required for the way i use Acronis TI 2009, ie , only manual backups.

    Thanx for reading this stuff and thanx to those willing to help.
     
  2. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I am not sure if you when you say Manual backup whether or not this is using the Acronis boot disk or just running Acronis backup from within windows.

    I only run manual backups from the boot disk. So I dont need Acronis on my system at all once I have a boot disk.

    I hope this helps.
     
  3. cybernomad

    cybernomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    hi,

    I have TI installed on my system and take backup from within windows...hey, the processes wnt run if i dnt have it installed...;)

    Never tried this but have read that this takes a lot of time than taking manual backups from within windows...is it true??
    Every small bit counts, man. thats what a community is, right?

    Thanx for sharing the info..
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I also belong to the club whose members do Backups and Restores only via the Rescue CD. Does it take long? To me, no. And I still use ver 9,3677 on XP, Vista and Win 7, ... some in dual boot config.
     
  5. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    For me it is quicker to backup using the boot disk than from within windows. I have a lot going on under windows.
     
  6. cybernomad

    cybernomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Thanx guyz for the info.

    But still havnt got any info regarding the subject of this thread viz the 4 processes as related to manual backups.

    Help Please. (Groverh and seekforever seem to be on vacation, :D )
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you're running TI in Windows, it's generally best to leave the processes running. TI runs everything as a scheduled task, even manual tasks.
     
  8. cybernomad

    cybernomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    hi,

    Thnx for the help evryone...What if I restart all these processes before starting TI for manual backups.

    Thnx again. But the original question still remains unanswered, i mean i've got yes' and no's but without justifications...
     
  9. Tepid

    Tepid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Actually, you have gotten a couple of good answers.

    A. Leave the processes running because even the manual task gets setup as a scheduled task, it just runs right away.

    .........A1. disableing the tasks and then restarting them would work, but
    ..............is time consuming and pointless.

    .........A2. Why don't you disable the services and try running it and
    ..............see what happens. This may answer your question fully and
    ..............faster than waiting for someone to give you what may or may
    ..............not be an accurate answer.

    B. Create a bootable rescue disk and uninstall ATI and do your backups from the bootable disk. Then you don't need to screw with the services and they will never be running.

    In the past the boot disk never took any longer than running from within windows and was usually faster. Don't know if this has changed.
     
  10. cybernomad

    cybernomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    hi,

    thanx for the reply...i did not say that i had not got good answers, what i meant to say was that there was no justification that went with the answers.

    However, thanx for streamlining the answers for me in two groups. makes it easier to understand the options that i've got.

    any more takes on this issue anyone...

    thanx
     
  11. GirlInterrupted

    GirlInterrupted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Um, yes. I have a take on this issue.

    I think it's totally messed up and the height of user unfriendliness for a program that gives you the option of performing its main functions 'manually' -- when and only when you want to -- forces you to run between 2 and 4 processes which serve absolutely no purpose and do nothing more than take up resources until you start the *actual* application for real.

    It's not a huge amount of resources but they're resources that could be going to something else; indeed, I've just installed TI on a computer dedicated to music and video production where every ounce of memory is precious and unnecessary background services are eliminated like, well, bugs.

     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.