Acronis Test Program-Error in XP event viewer?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mac25, Jan 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    Acronis®*True*Image*Echo Workstation® {build*8,018}



    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Acronis Test Program
    Event Category: (39)
    Event ID: 28
    Date: 1/2/2008
    Time: 7:21:25 AM
    User: N/A
    Computer: XX-XXXXXXXXXXXX
    Description:
    No previous thread security context handle is found.
    (0x2D001C)
    Tag = 0x45DB959A01C0DD87

    For more information,
    see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    any ideal why an error is being reported? , ofcoarse MS has no idea! but thanked me for reporting it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I had a similar error the other day and I attributed it to messing around with Editing and creating Backkup locations and then cancelling the transaction without ever making any changes. It may or may not relate to that.
    Grover
     
  3. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    none of that applies to me, thanks for the reply though.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Mac25,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please collect some more information to let us investigate the problem thoroughly?

    Please create Event Viewer export with the specified error.

    Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please make a screen shot of the Device Tree application the way described in this previous post.

    Please also run "regedit" command and let us know the data lines of the below registry keys:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} -> UpperFilters
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F} -> UpperFilters

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    info gathered, with reports & pics sent to acronis.
     
  6. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    Follow up!!!!

    recieved instructions from Acronis tech support, followed the instructions carefully and to the letter, i never look forward to editing the registry but thats where the instructions led, i did find a registry entry that was missing a { - } in the entry, i deleted the incorrect registry along with all the others acronis had instructed and installed Acronis Ti Echo WS and rebooted, installed Universal Restore and rebooted, rechecked for the Error in event viewer and all was good!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks to Acronis Tech Support for handling my problem in such a timely!

    Problem Solved
    Mike
     
  7. Bartype

    Bartype Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Mac,

    What are these steps to solve this error?

    Thank you in advance,

    Mart
     
  8. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    Hello Bartype

    run acronis cleanup utility, run MS msi installer cleanup utility, deleting and editing a page full of registry keys, about 2 pages of instructions, a big mess, the serial # i was given was for an upgrade, apparently its a known problem, i wont be using any future upgrades, i still couldnt get universal restore to give me a workable OS either when i tried to move to different hardware, more or less a beta tester.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.