Acronis support is USELESS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jcarerra, Jan 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    I had an account previously established at acronis...recent try to login failed. So, I click the forgotten password link (pwd was not forgotten; I had it in a file and it used to work). The link results in an email to your login email address (so obviously the email address is right, or I wouldn't get the automated response)

    You click a link in the received automated email, and that displays a page giving you a new password. Go use that password (by cut and paste) to login. It fails. Get new passwords repeatedly. It fails multiple times.

    Enter a support request in the stupid "fill in many useless fields" web form (you can't send email to support@acronis.com any more. Well, you can send it, but you get an automated answer saying to use the web form.

    The result of the support request through the web form is an email with a new password...one which fails like all the others. Two tries doing it this way, resulting in the endless loop of all you can get from them is a new password that won't work on the account.

    ACRONIS SUPPORT IS USELESS.

    I have a feeling that the account got locked automatically for too many failed pwd attempts, but there is no way to communicate with support to get it looked at. All they will do is push the button that answers your query with the automated new password.

    Oh, did I say you cannot reach them on the phone?

    ACRONIS SUPPORT IS USELESS.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Have you tried clearing out your browser cache or logging on from a different computer?

    It might be a cookie or similar is causing the problem.

    I've just tried logging on via the US and Australian website and both succeeded.

    Colin
     
  3. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    I will crank up an old computer and try. Post here later.

    Still doesn't absolve Acronis of failure to support.
     
  4. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    bodgy, I got the other computer up, collected the new password on the problem computer, passed it in a text file over the LAN to the old computer, and logged in with success.

    So there is something on this (I'm back on my main 'puter) that is blocking the logon.

    Question is, why couldn't Acronis support have told me that in the numerous communications with them (the ones that resulted in them consistently sending back new passwords)?

    Thank you. Hope it is cache and not cookies. I will NOT delete all my cookies --another favorite troubleshooting tactic of support people..."erase all your stored logons and site customizations--errrrrr, delete all your cookies."

    LATER...it was cache/temp files. Clearing that let me log in. I am thankful, but disappointed that it took going outside of the company's primary product support means to get it done.

    Now on to the next thing...while there, I registered the v11, and checked updates. It showed me an update, but it has the same number, 8053, as is in the file name of the downloaded new version. In a way, that is a disappointment, as it means the problems I have described in a different topic are endemic to the latest release, and thus I have a product I am scared to death to use (15 minutes for boot disk to get to the graphical screen with the actionable buttons/menus...15 minutes! I am actually surprised I waited that long for it to complete. Should I remove this from my computer and reinstall v10?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  5. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    I've been using CCleaner to "manage" my cookies. I can keep the ones I need and delete the others at will.

    It's a good program for lots of things.

    Under options, cookies.
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    What Hiker said .... that's the way I keep my logons to different forums, yet still clear out the unwanted cookies.
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I clear all cache and cookies, and do not save any passwords within the browser. Yes, this forces me to log in each time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.