Acronis stole my 25gig!!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by myhomie, Dec 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    i tried using acronis true image and i dedicated 25 gig on acronis drive

    bu i change my mind because i cannot afford to give away 25 gig coz its too much for me. so when i was erasing the acronis drive it says there that my 25gig will be given back to my C: drive and after erasing it, it still doesnt gave my 25 gig back! :mad:

    then i tried to create 25 gig partition for acronis and then deleting it several times hoping that it will give back my 25gig but with no luck..

    when i create 25 gig it still uses the 25gig it got from me but when i try to erase it, it still wont give it back to my hard drive, :doubt:

    im worried that i wont get it back ever coz the product says that it stores my 25gig in the deepest part of my harddrive so no one can delete my backup. but i dont need backup anymore!

    now ive uninstalled acronis and everything and im planning to reformat my PC. just to get back my precious 25 gig! ARgh!

    *will it let me have my memory back after the reformat?
    coz im still not sure if i'll have my 25 gig after the reformat..

    i dont think that il use acronis anymore coz it wants to eat up 70gig of my harddrive for backup. now thats too much for me! (i think for anyone) 70gig is waaay too large. and im afraid that even if i give the 70gig it wont let me have it back.
    man, acronis true image is driving me nuts!
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    This was a problem with TI9 build 2289. It has been corrected in the latest build (2323). If you do it all over again with 2323 you will get your space back.

    Do not reformat! It is a simple matter of using a third party non-destructive partitioning program to reallocate the 25 GB of free space back to your drive. I suggest Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.
     
  3. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    oh im so relieved to hear that. il follow your advice mate. thanks and il update you if i received my 25 gig back.

    thanks a lot for your help.

    and another thing i really like the idea of creating a backup of my drive but the problem is just like i said above its trying to eat up 70 GIG! and i cant afford that. i meant thats almost a third of my total hard drive!
    do you guys have this problem too?

    thanks again for your kind help.
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello myhomie,

    I am assuming that you were using an earlier build of TI 9 than build 2323 and that you were using the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard from within Windows to "Remove" the Secure Zone (SZ). As Mustang said, prior to build 2323, TI contained a bug that prevented removal of the SZ if the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard was used whilst running in Windows mode.

    Did you create a True Image bootable rescue CD and have you still got it? If so, boot from the rescue CD and use the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard from within the Linux based rescue environment to remove the SZ. You should then find that you've reclaimed those 25GB back to your C: drive.

    Regards
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I gather you are using the Acronis Secure Zone. I don't I just put the image on another partition or better still on a second physical drive for increased reliabiltity. From time to time I make a copy of the latest image on DVD for further increased reliability. As the space allotted for my images fills I delete the oldest image or a few of them.
    I don't make images every day or two. I backup my new/modified datafiles nightly using BackupMyPC but you could use TI9s file/folder backup to do this or even XP's backup although I have never done it.

    The space required for an image is about 3/4 of the used space in the partition being imaged. This number will vary by how much the files compress. Note that it is the used space not the total partition size that determines the image size.
     
  6. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    yes you guys are right im using the older version, the problem happened maybe almost 2 months ago i think, or a month im not sure.

    sorry i didnt made any true Image bootable rescue CD.

    i tried using the acronis disk director and i have found the 25gig and its said that its not allocated. i allocated it in a new partition but when i commited the task to perform it after reboot nothing happened! ive tried performing the same task twice now, but still nothing. so my 25 gig is still left unallocated.
    im using the 2064 build i think.

    looks like im having trouble with another of acronis' programs.

    il try now the acronis true image latest build maybe i can use the unallocated 25gig to make acronis secure zone and delete it giving it back to my drive C:

    oh man..this is driving me nuts.

    and seekforever do you do full backup on your conputer? and if so how much is it asking for?

    the succeeding images after the fullback up is small but the full backup is still too much for me. maybe i should only backup the important files like my videos but i think this will still be too much for me. and i dont have the £££ to buy a new hard drive to increase my memory.
    i dont know the backupmyPC and TI9s file/folder. maybe i could take a look at it if i have the time.

    thanks guys il update you i solved the problem using the true image 2323.
     
  7. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    haha silly me. TI9 is true image 9. :D
     
  8. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    man this sucks! i tried using the disk creator suite 10.2077 but it didnt do the job again same as the previous build 2064 it looks like its doing its job when im rebooting it but after the widows load nothing happens still no partitions made!!

    the same with the acronis true image build 2323 i tried creating the acronis secure zone using my unallocated space of 25gig but it cannot create it, its having some kinda error shown in the log viewer.

    im getting really pissed off now, nothing of the acronis products work. none of them ever worked for me, ever. sorry got to let the feelings out of my chest.
    will i ever get my 25gig back?! dude help.
     
  9. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    whoa!! it worked! after a couple of tries it finally worked the true image did the trick. thanks again for all of your help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.