Acronis Startup Recovery Manager

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by artp, Nov 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. artp

    artp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    It appears that when installing ATI version 10, the program will automatically install the Startup Recovery Manager thus modifying the MBR.

    Since I do not need nor want this capability I would hope to invoke an option which would avoid installing the Startup Recovery Manager. Is such an option available?

    Art
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    This does not happen automatically. If you want it you have to make a positive choice.

    Xpilot
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    That contradicts what I know of version 9.
    The SRM had to be manually activated, and only after a Secure Zone was created.
    The way to reverse the MBR changes made by the SRM was to remove the Secure Zone.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello artp,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    First of all please note that as Xpilot and TheWeaz said Acronis Startup Recovery Manager should be activated manually after installation of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. You can find the detailed instructions on how activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager in Chapter 3.4 "Acronis Startup Recovery Manager" in the Acronis True Image 10.0 HomeUser's Guide.

    Please note that in order to be able to use Acronis Startup Recovery Manager on your computer there should be Acronis Secure Zone.

    In order to remove Acronis Startup Recovery Manager you could either delete Acronis Secure Zone via Manage Acronis Secure Zone wizard (Chapter 9. "Managing Acronis Secure Zone"), or fix/restore your hard drive's MBR either by booting the computer from Windows installation CD and issuing the 'fixmbr' command in Recovery Console or using one of the methods described in Acronis Help Post. In the second case Acronis Secure Zone will not be deleted and you will be able to use it to store backup archives.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.