Acronis Secure Zone & MS Disk Management..

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by WindBlade, Sep 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WindBlade

    WindBlade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    I am trying out Acornis TI 11 as I wanted to try and Try & Decide Feature
    However, when I created a Secure Zone on my Main System Drive, MS Disk Management seem to have gone hey wire..

    I attached a Before and After image after creating a 50GB Acronis SZ with space from G:\..

    My HDD went up from 500GB HDD to 800GB HDD. Lolz..
    Seems like you can get Extra disk space with TI11.. Lolz..

    Is this supposed to be normal?
    Can someone confirm this bug?

    Another thing to note is that after removing SZ (shown in the attachment), my G:\ becomes a Primary Parition..
    Can there be 2 Primary Partition in a drive? hmm
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    This is sort of a bug and sort of normal.

    The same thing happens in certain situations using Acronis Disk Director to create partitions.

    The partition layout is technically not breaking any "rules", but Windows Disk Management has a problem with it. (In fact, XP and Vista don't even display it the same way.) It actually shows the space twice and mixes up the display. Notice the G: primary inside the extended container. The 301.57GB free space and the 50.01GB unallocated are the SAME space on the hard drive as the 301.57GB G: partition and the 50.01GB SZ partition.

    Your drive should function properly, but don't use Windows Disk Management to make any partition changes. Use DD or another program that can see the partition layout correctly.

    Each drive can have four primary partitions (or up to three and one extended partition). Only one primary partition can be Active (bootable) at a time.

    Was the G: partition originally a Logical partition?

    If it's now a Primary partition, you might try the SZ procedure again and see if it creates another Primary partition or screws up Windows Disk Management again.
     
  3. WindBlade

    WindBlade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    Hi
    Thanks for the information MudCrab..
    hmm

    Originally, my g:\ was a Logical Partition..
    After I created a SZ and discovering that it kindof massed up the MS Disk Management, I undid the SZ..
    THen my g:\ became a Primary Partition..

    Does that mean the anyone who created a SZ on their machine will see their paritions messed up on Disk Manager, albiet still working? BUt I can't seem to find any previous posts on this.. SEems like a TI11 bug?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I just ran a quick test with Vista and the SZ.

    The is the before image of the drive layout.
    sz_layout_1.jpg

    This is what it looks like after creating a SZ in the last Logical partition. Notice that Windows Disk Management shows the partition is Primary. However, the last Logical partition (the J: partition) is still Logical.
    sz_layout_2.jpg

    And this is what Disk Director shows. Notice that DD shows the partition is still Logical and not Primary. Also, if I look at the partition table, the SZ is not a Primary partition.
    sz_layout_3.jpg

    The results were the same when the Recovery Manager was activated.
    sz_layout_4_arm.jpg

    In all cases, removing the SZ and putting the space back into the last Logical partition resulted in a Logical partition.

    ----

    I have not checked this procedure with XP. However, it seems apparent that Vista's Windows Disk Management does not "see" the SZ partition correctly. From previous tests, Vista displays any "unrecognized" partitions (including Linux partitions) as Primary partitions (I've have 5 showing plus and Extended partition, which isn't even possible). XP display things differently and you end up with a "mixed-up" display like what you got.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.